Inga Kalna, Diana Ketler – Das Rosenband – R. Strauss, J. Medins, A. Kalnins (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Inga Kalna, Diana Ketler – Das Rosenband – R. Strauss, J. Medinš, A. Kalninš (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 49:01 minutes | 815 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © SKANI

This album was based on the great idea of uncovering some Lieder by two Latvian composers, Jānis Mediņš, and along the way, some by Richard Strauss. Chosen by the Latvian singer Inga Kalna, this very “Art Nouveau” programme evokes nature, various times of day, autumn leaves, the whispering sea, the waters lit by the moon and, of course, the flowers so characteristic of this artistic form that characterises the architecture of Riga; roses, lilies, ivy, a whole herbarium against a background of love and melancholy set to music by these three composers. A demanding programme requiring “absolute control of breathing and one hundred percent conviction” according to the singer.

Jānis Mediņš (1890-1966) is one of the central figures of Latvian music; he was a master in the field of the Lied; and he is also credited with symphonic works and chamber music. He is also, like Alfrēds Kalniņš (1879-1951) present on this recording, as one of the founding fathers of Latvian opera. The many romances and Lieder they left behind are similar to those of Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov. Recorded in July 2020 following a series of recitals, this very original program includes almost twenty Lieder distributed among the three composers, half for Strauss who opens and closes the programme and the rest for the Latvian composers’ sensitive and expressive melodies. – François Hudry


1. Inga Kalna – Allerseelen No. 8, Op. 10
2. Inga Kalna – Uz brītiņu
3. Inga Kalna – Morgen!
4. Inga Kalna – Efeja vija
5. Inga Kalna – Breit’ über mein Haupt No. 2, Op. 19
6. Inga Kalna – Aicinājums
7. Inga Kalna – Zueignung No. 1, Op.10
8. Inga Kalna – Jūras vaidi
9. Inga Kalna – Ruhe, meine Seele! No. 1, Op. 27
10. Inga Kalna – Ūdens lilija
11. Inga Kalna – Das Rosenband No. 1, Op. 36
12. Inga Kalna – Jaunā mīla
13. Inga Kalna – Glāsts
14. Inga Kalna – Minjona
15. Inga Kalna – Die Nacht No. 3, Op. 10
16. Inga Kalna – Nocturno
17. Inga Kalna – Heimliche Aufforderung No. 3, Op. 27
18. Inga Kalna – Jau aiz kalniem, jau aiz birzēm
19. Inga Kalna – Cäcilie No. 2, Op. 27