Imany – Voodoo Cello (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Imany – Voodoo Cello (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 55:15 minutes | 596 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Think Zik !

The love marriage sorcerer of the low tones of Imany and eight cellos.

With Voodoo Cello, the singer Imany casts a spell on eight cellos to transform some of the greatest hits of pop history (from Ed Sheeran to Cat Stevens, Donna Summer, Hozier, t.A.t.u., Bob Marley, Elton John, Neil Diamond…). Without any artifice, she uses the combined magic of the strings and her voice to bewitch the audience and awaken their consciences around the power of the feminine.

For the past ten years, Imany’s deep voice has been seducing the French public with compositions nourished by her soul, folk and blues inspirations. From the triumph of the two singles Don’t be so shy and You Will Never Know, his two albums to the soundtrack of the film Sous les jupes des filles, Imany’s success has taken him all over the world. After a break following long international tours, Imany returns to the stage to combine his voice with the warm sounds of a cello ensemble: this is a meeting we couldn’t miss.

For her third album, Imany covers her favourite songs with an ensemble of eight cellos. While in most cross-over albums the performers surround themselves with expert arrangers and producers in their field, here the Provencal-born singer is in full control of the whole project. Voodoo Cello opens with glissandi evoking ambulance sirens, as if to signify the underlying madness of the Jacques Brel song that Imany dresses up here with her bewitching voice (an English version of Ne me quitte pas). Another track which evokes a certain madness, Cat Stevens’ Wild World is elegantly performed by the singer and her supporting musicians. The album also features many of the hits usually associated with the group FM, which are endowed with a certain gravity here: Elton John’s I’m Still Standing, Imagine Dragons’ Believer, the Russian duo t.A.T.u’s All The Things She Said, Madonna’s Like a Prayer and Bonnie Tyler’s Total Eclipse of the Heart. For this last track-one of the most surprising on the album-the strident and dissonant sounds of the cellos inevitably recall the gothic atmosphere of the setting to the Welsh singer’s famous original music video for the track. Whilst in the “curiosities” category, we should mention the very eco-friendly Les Voleurs d’eau, a forgotten track by Henri Salvador from 1989. As a bonus track, Imany offers a remixed version of Black’s Wonderful Life, in which the cellos are accompanied by a club rhythm. – Nicolas Magenham

1. Imany – If You Go Away
2. Imany – Believer
3. Imany – Wonderful Life
4. Imany – I’m Still Standing
5. Imany – Les Voleurs D’Eau
6. Imany – The A Team
7. Imany – All the Things She Said
8. Imany – Like a Prayer
9. Imany – Total Eclipse of the Heart
10. Imany – Take Me to Church
11. Imany – Little Black Angels (Angelitos Negros)
12. Imany – Wild World
13. Imany – Wonderful Life (Stream Jockey Rework)