Iiris Tarnanen – The Day I Was Born (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Iiris Tarnanen – The Day I Was Born (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 41:15 minutes | 433 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Eclipse Music – Supersounds Music Oy

Each day we are born again: We breathe in, we lean towards and take a step. We may tumble and fall, but then we rise up in one way or another, and take a new breath.

The Day I Was Born – the debut album of Iiris Tarnanen is inspired by the journey of life. Tarnanen’s compositions draw on themes from self-empathy to inner devils and new beginnings. Touching stories, shameless attitude and strong emotions are all communicated through the music, brought to life on this versatile album.

”For a long time I have been dreaming of recording my own album. We had a successful crowd funding campaign in May and June 2019 – and now we are able to make this dream come true! I thank all the donators and supporters who participated in the Mesenaatti campaign. With your help, I can fund the production of the album.”

Iiris Tarnanen is a Helsinki-based composer and musician who sings, dances and plays the cello. The versatile artist has been called unique, insightful and entertaining. Her music has been influenced by the music traditions of different countries as well as the Western singer-songwriter tradition.

“I started composing music for a solo album in 2016 when I was experiencing a big burnout. I was trying to live in a way I imagined from the outside to be good. After burning out, however, I began to explore myself and what really matters to me. This album has taken almost 5 years to make, and it has been a tremendously educational journey. Thank you to everyone who has been on the journey!”, says Tarnanen about her debut album.

Tarnanen’s energetic album includes a large group of well-known Finnish jazz and world music composers, such as Timo Alakotila and trumpet player Ilkka Arola. Tarnanen’s strengths can be seen both in songs like Demon Inside Me, which she performs purely as a solo number, and as a leader of varied ensembles, from intimate trio performances to even 7-piece ensembles. Bravely ignoring genre definitions, Tarnanen is one of the most interesting entrants in the field of domestic jazz and world music in 2021.


1. Iiris Tarnanen – Sinä kaunis riemastuttava tyttö
2. Iiris Tarnanen – The Flag
3. Iiris Tarnanen – Villit veet
4. Iiris Tarnanen – Armaani mun vierahalla maalla
5. Iiris Tarnanen – Demon Inside Me
6. Iiris Tarnanen – Devil’s Dance
7. Iiris Tarnanen – In the Lap of Love
8. Iiris Tarnanen – Syklinen aika
9. Iiris Tarnanen – My Decision
10. Iiris Tarnanen – Tiptoe Secrets Reveal