Huelgas Ensemble & Paul Van Nevel – The Music Prints of Christophe Plantin (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Huelgas Ensemble & Paul Van Nevel – The Music Prints of Christophe Plantin (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:06:19 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © deutsche harmonia mundi

The French printer-publisher Christophe Plantin (1520-1589), who has lived in Antwerp more or less all of his adult life, is not just anyone. He is credited with some two thousand publications, an absolutely astounding number in this era in which everything was done by hand, including the press done page after page, and yet he’s managed to publish a new book approximately every week during his 34-year career, with more than a thousand copies for each—up to eight thousand copies for his Hebraic Bible. His workshop included sixteen hand presses, served by thirty-two printers, twenty typographers, three proofreaders and many servants of all kinds: a true company. Hisopus magnum is a Bible in five languages: Latin, Greek, Hebrew, Aramaean and Syriac. He is also credited with works in the fields of medicine, botany, cartography, anatomy, mathematics, religion of course… And yes, also music! Because he published several major partitions, gathering contemporary sacred works from Jacobus De Kerle, Palestrina, Philippus De Monte, as well as several chansonniers gathering pieces from Andries Pervenage, Claude Le Jeune and colleagues. It is in this incredible stock that the beautiful Ensemble Huelgas drew, alternating between profane and sacred, choral and soloist, a sort of condensed musical Renaissance oscillating between ferocious Catholics (Antwerp was then under Spanish domination, and Philip II was very touchy about religion) and rebellious Protestants.

01. Epitaphe de Christophe Plantin: Pleurez Muses (à 5)
02. Missa da Pacem Domine: Agnus Dei (à 6 & 9)
03. Trois fois heureux et gracieux (Chanson à 5)
04. Missa si ambulavero: Sanctus & Agnus Dei (à 6)
05. Fay que je vive (Chanson)
06. Conditor alme siderum (Hymn à 4, 5 & 6)
07. Sur tous regretz (Chanson à 5)
08. Missa Praeter rerum seriem: Gloria (à 7)
09. Je suis tellement amoureux (Chanson)
10. La nuict le jour (Chanson à 6)
11. Missa Praeter rerum seriem: Agnus Dei (à 7 & 8)
12. Quell’eau, quel air, quel feu (Chanson à 4)

Huelgas Ensemble
Olivier Coiffet, Tenor
Achim Schulz, Cembalo
Axelle Bernage, Sopran
Paul Van Nevel, Leitung