Hofkapelle Munchen – Angel, Devil, Priest – Leclair, Locatelli & Vivaldi Violin Concertos (2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Hofkapelle Munchen – Angel, Devil, Priest – Leclair, Locatelli & Vivaldi Violin Concertos (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 01:11:35 minutes | 778 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © deutsche harmonia mundi

The fascinating album is devoted to a trio of 18th-century musicians who may be said without any exaggeration to have so exhausted the violin’s potential that their 19th-century spiritual successor, Nicolò Paganini, needed to do little more than consolidate that potential and refine the performer’s technique. The musicians in question are Jean-Marie Leclair (the ANGEL), Pietro Locatelli (the DEVIL), and Antonio Vivaldi (the PRIEST). Leclair’s Violin Concerto in G minor op. 10 no. 6 selected for this CD is the composer’s last concerto for the instrument and at the same time the most demanding that he wrote for the violin. Also included are Leclair’s three “Airs des démons” from his only opera Scylla et Glaucus, in which the use of different metres in the third “Airs des démons” is particularly interesting, for this is a trick that Leclair uses to suggest that the demons are deliberately disrupting the rhythm of the number. No Italian violinist before Locatelli had produced such breath-taking effects on his instrument. Concerto no. 7 no. 6 (“Il pianto d’Arianna”) that is included in this volume is an extraordinary piece from every point of view, starting with Locatelli’s use of the different keys, to say nothing of his treatment of the solo violin and even the concerto’s formal design. Vivaldi was dubbed ‘the Red Priest’ by his contemporaries on account not only of the colour of his hair but also because of the fact that he was ordained a priest at the age of twenty-five. The Double Violin Concerto in D minor RV 514 that is featured in the present recording is one of Vivaldi’s most beautiful and at the same time technically demanding compositions.


Jean-Marie Leclair (1657-1764)

Concerto For Violin, Strings And Basso Continuo In G Minor, Op. 10, No. 6
1 I. Allegro ma poco 07:55
2 II. Aria. Andante grazioso 03:16
3 III. Allegro 05:54

Scylla Et Glaucus, Op. 11
4 1er Air de Démons 02:05
5 2e Air de Démons 01:16
6 3e Air de Démons 01:45

Pietro Antonio Locatelli (1695-1764)

Concerto Grosso In E-flat Major, Op. 7, No. 6
7 I. Andante – Allegro 01:29
8 II. Adagio 01:19
9 III. Andante – Allegro 01:34
10 IV. Largo 02:41
11 V. Largo Andante 04:13
12 VI. Grave 02:45
13 VII. Allegro 00:45
14 VIII. Largo 02:50

Concerto For Violin, Strings And Basso Continuo In D Minor, Op. 3, No. 1
15 I. Allegro 02:54
16 Capriccio 1 04:35
17 II. Largo 05:00
18 III. Allegro 02:58
19 Capriccio 2 05:36

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Concerto For Two Violins, Strings And Basso Continuo In D Minor, Rv 514
20 I. Allegro non molto 04:14
21 II. Adagio 03:30
22 III. Allegro molto 03:02

Chouchane Siranossian, violin
Hofkapelle München
Rudiger Lotter, conductor