Hiromi Uehara (上原ひろみ) – Move (2012) [HDTracks 24bit/96khz]

Hiromi – Move (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 69:24 minutes | 2,54 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Digital booklet

Heralded as one of the brightest new lights on the piano jazz landscape, Hiromi has already amassed a stunning discography of mostly original works, and seems to possess a bottomless well of musical ideas, absorbing a wide range of influences from Bach and classical to jazz fusion and rock.
For her latest Telarc release, the acclaimed pianist/composer has formed one of the greatest trios ever assembled. Hiromi is joined by contra-bass guitarist Anthony Jackson (Paul Simon, Steely Dan, Chick Corea) and drummer Simon Phillips (The Who, Jack Bruce, Toto). Move features nine original Hiromi compositions that expose the beauty and technique of each musician. Absolutely thrilling.

Move is Hiromi’s second “Trio Project” recording with electric bassist Anthony Jackson and drummer Simon Phillips, and is a worthy follow-up to 2011’s Voice. The pianist/composer defines the compositions on Move as mirroring an average day, starting with the title track, a choppy excursion that finds the trio connecting through a maze of twists and turns. “Brand New Day” is smoother than the previous track but doesn’t lose any of the energy. Hiromi switches between piano and an analog synthesizer on “Endeavor,” which, unfortunately, sounds like a novelty and cheapens the otherwise enjoyable composition. “Rainmaker” glides between fusion and post-bop. “Margarita!” is fun party funk. The final track, “11:49 PM,” brings the day, and this very satisfying session, to its conclusion.

01 – Move
02 – Brand New Day
03 – Endeavor
04 – Rainmaker
05 – Suite Escapism: Reality
06 – Suite Escapism: Fantasy
07 – Suite Escapism: In Between
08 – Margarita!
09 – 11:49 PM

Anthony Jackson – contrabass guitar
Simon Phillips – drums



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.