Herbie Hancock – Sound System (1984/2013) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Herbie Hancock – Sound System (1984/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96kHz  | Time – 40:40 minutes | 821 MB | Genre: Jazz, Funk
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Columbia Records
Recorded: October-December 1983, Evergreen Studio, New York City. Additional recording at Garage Sale Recording, Los Angeles; Studio Media, Evanston, Illinois; and Eldorado Recording, Los Angeles.

Produced by Bill Laswell, Sound System follows where Herbie Hancock’s Future Shock left off. This experimental masterpiece bursts with even louder techno-pop brilliance. Hancock is joined by acclaimed musicians including Foday Musa Suso, Nicky Skopelitis, Wayne Shorter, Webster Lewis and more. It reached the Top Ten on Billboard’s Top Jazz Albums and includes the thrilling hit “Hardrock.” The album also won the GRAMMY® for Best R&B Instrumental Performance.

In the grand tradition of sequels, Sound-System picks up from where Future Shock left off — if anything, even louder and more bleakly industrial than before (indeed, “Hardrock” is “Rockit” with a heavier rock edge). Yet Hancock’s experiments with techno-pop were leading him in the general direction of Africa, explicitly so with the addition of the Gambian multi-instrumentalist Foday Musa Suso on half of the tracks. “Junku,” written for the 1984 Olympic Games with Suso’s electrified kora in the lead, is the transition track that stands halfway between “Rockit” and Hancock’s mid-’80s Afro-jazz fusions. Also, “Karabali” features an old cohort, the squealing Wayne Shorter on soprano sax. Despite succumbing a bit to the overwhelming demand for more “Rockits,” Hancock’s electric music still retained its adventurous edge. -Richard S. Ginell

1 Hardrock 6:12
2 Metal Beat 4:56
3 Karabali 5:16
4 Junku 5:31
5 People Are Changing 6:05
6 Sound System 5:55
7 Metal Beat (Extended) 6:45

Herbie Hancock: Piano, synthesizer, keyboards
Bill Laswell: Electric bass, drum programming, tapes
D.S.T.: Turntables, “FX”
Nicky Skopelitis: Guitar, electric drums
Henry Kaiser: Guitar
Bernard Fowler: vocals, vocal arrangements
Wayne Shorter: Lyricon
Toshinori Kondo: Trumpet
Anton Fier: drums, percussion
Daniel Poncé: Percussion
Foday Musa Suso: Percussion, guitar, various instruments
Aïyb Dieng: Percussion
Hamid Drake: cymbals
Will Alexander: Fairlight programming
Rob Stevens: Programming



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.