Herbie Hancock – Crossings (1972/2014) [AcousticSounds 24bit/192kHz]

Herbie Hancock – Crossings (1972/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time – 00:46:03 minutes | 1,86 GB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | © Warner Bros. Records
Recorded: February 1972 at Pacific Recording Studios, San Mateo; Moog and mellotron at Different Fur Trading Company, San Francisco

Crossings is jazz pianist Herbie Hancock’s tenth studio album originally released in 1972. The record was the second during Hancock’s Mwandishi period, which featured a string of albums that focused on experimental electronics. Crossings was the first album to feature the newest member to Hancock’s group, synthesizer player Patrick Gleeson.

With the frenzied knocking of what sounds like a clock shop gone berserk, Crossings takes the Herbie Hancock Sextet even further into the electric avant-garde, creating its own idiom. Now, however, the sextet has become a septet with the addition of Dr. Patrick Gleeson on Moog synthesizer, whose electronic decorations, pitchless and not, give the band an even spacier edge. Again, there are only three tracks — the centerpiece being Hancock’s multi-faceted, open-structured suite in five parts called “Sleeping Giant.” Nearly 25 minutes long yet amazingly cohesive, “Sleeping Giant” gathers a lot of its strength from a series of funky grooves — the most potent of which explodes at the tail-end of Part Two — and Hancock’s on-edge Fender Rhodes electric piano solos anticipate his funk adventures later in the ’70s. Bennie Maupin’s “Quasar” pushes the session into extraterrestrial territory, dominated by Gleeson’s wild Moog effects and trumpeter Eddie Henderson’s patented fluttering air trumpet. Even stranger is Maupin’s “Water Torture,” which saunters along freely with splashes of color from Hancock’s spooky Mellotron and fuzz-wah-pedaled Fender Rhodes piano, Gleeson’s electronics, and a quintet of voices. Still a challenging sonic experience, this music (which can be heard on Warners’ Mwandishi two-CD set) has yet to find its audience, though the electronica-minded youth ought to find it dazzling. -Richard S. Ginell

1 Sleeping Giant 24:45
2 Quasar 07:23
3 Water Torture 13:55

Herbie Hancock – Piano, Electric Piano, Mellotron, Percussion
Eddie Henderson – Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Percussion
Billy Hart – Drums, Percussion
Julian Priester – Bass, Tenor and Alto Trombone, Percussion
Buster Williams – Electric Bass, Bass, Percussion
Bennie Maupin – Soprano Saxophone, Alto Flute, Bass Clarinet, Piccolo, Percussion
Patrick Gleeson – Moog Synthesizer
Victor Pontoja – Congas
Voices – Candy Love, Sandra Stevens, Della Horne, Victoria Domagalski, Scott Breach



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.