Hazel Scott – Always (1979/2022) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Hazel Scott – Always (1979/2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 30:58 minutes | 583 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Audio Fidelity

Hazel Dorothy Scott (June 11, 1920 – October 2, 1981) was a Trinidad-born American jazz and classical pianist, singer, and actor. She was a critically acclaimed performing artist and an outspoken critic of racial discrimination and segregation. She used her influence to improve the representation of Black Americans in film.

Born in Port of Spain, Scott moved to New York City with her mother at the age of four. Scott was a child musical prodigy, receiving scholarships to study at the Juilliard School when she was eight. In her teens, she performed in a jazz band. She also performed on the radio.

She was prominent as a jazz singer throughout the 1930s and 1940s. In 1950, she became the first black American to host her own TV show, The Hazel Scott Show. Her career in America faltered after she testified before the House Un-American Activities Committee in 1950 during the McCarthy era. Scott subsequently moved to Paris in 1957 and began performing in Europe, not returning to the United States until 1967.

01. Hazel Scott – Let Me Hold You (02:18)
02. Hazel Scott – La Vita (This is My Life) (04:22)
03. Hazel Scott – Just the Way You Are (04:28)
04. Hazel Scott – Do You Feel Alright? (04:09)
05. Hazel Scott – Always (03:53)
06. Hazel Scott – Spend Some Time with Me (03:52)
07. Hazel Scott – Be What You Are (03:55)
08. Hazel Scott – No Greater Love (03:57)