Hathor Consort – Animam gementem cano (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Hathor Consort, Pluto-Ensemble, Romina Lischka, Marnix De Cat – Animam gementem cano (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:01:23 minutes | 1,13 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Ramée

With the world premiere recording of a rediscovered Stabat Mater, a late work by the Bohemian master František Tůma, Pluto-Ensemble and Hathor Consort expand the Baroque discography with an emotionally gripping work. The version presented here, one of Tůma’s five settings of the text, long lay forgotten in the Abbey library in Ottobeuren, until Marnix De Cat (artistic director of the Pluto-Ensemble) rediscovered this gem. It is heard here with the Requiem in F minor by Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber and instrumental works by Biber, his teacher Johann Heinrich Schmelzer and his Salzburg colleague Andreas Christoph Clamer. Animam gementem cano (‘I hymn the grieving soul’ – the first two words quote the Stabat Mater text) takes us on a journey through many of life’s most significant moments: we are confronted with life and death, but also with our personal path towards consciousness. The programme is intended not only to provide comfort for the ‘captive grieving soul’ of every flesh-and-blood human being, but also to offer every curious music lover a voyage of discovery.


1. Pluto-Ensemble – I. Introitus. Requiem (Adagio) & Kyrie
2. Pluto-Ensemble – II. Sequentia. Dies Iræ – Lacrimosa
3. Pluto-Ensemble – III. Offertorium. Domine Jesu – Quam olim Abrahæ
4. Pluto-Ensemble – IV. Sanctus – Osanna – Benedictus
5. Pluto-Ensemble – V. Agnus Dei & Communio
6. Hathor Consort – Sonata IX in G Major
7. Hathor Consort – I. Lamento (Adagio quanto si può)
8. Hathor Consort – II. Gigue (Allegro)
9. Hathor Consort – III. Sarabanda (Adagio, Adagio)
10. Hathor Consort – IV. Saltarello (Alla breve)
11. Hathor Consort – Sonata VIII à 5 in G Major
12. Pluto-Ensemble – I. Stabat Mater (Larghetto)
13. Pluto-Ensemble – II. O quam tristis
14. Pluto-Ensemble – III. Quis est homo (Andante)
15. Pluto-Ensemble – IV. Pro peccatis (Larghetto)
16. Pluto-Ensemble – V. Eia Mater (Andante)
17. Pluto-Ensemble – VI. Sancta Mater
18. Pluto-Ensemble – VII. Fac me tecum (Larghetto)
19. Pluto-Ensemble – VIII. Fac me plagis
20. Pluto-Ensemble – IX. Fac ut animæ