Harry Partch – Harry Partch, 1942 (Live) (2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Harry Partch – Harry Partch, 1942 (Live) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 57:08 minutes | 822 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © MicroFest Records

Harry Partch (June 24, 1901 – September 3, 1974) was an American composer, music theorist, and creator of musical instruments. He composed using scales of unequal intervals in just intonation, and was one of the first 20th-century composers in the West to work systematically with microtonal scales. He built custom-made instruments in these tunings on which to play his compositions, and described his theory and practice in his book Genesis of a Music (1947).

Partch composed with scales dividing the octave into 43 unequal tones derived from the natural harmonic series; these scales allowed for more tones of smaller intervals than in standard Western tuning, which uses twelve equal intervals to the octave. To play his music, Partch built many unique instruments, with such names as the Chromelodeon, the Quadrangularis Reversum, and the Zymo-Xyl. Partch described his music as corporeal, and distinguished it from abstract music, which he perceived as the dominant trend in Western music since the time of Bach. His earliest compositions were small-scale pieces to be intoned to instrumental backing; his later works were large-scale, integrated theater productions in which he expected each of the performers to sing, dance, speak, and play instruments. Ancient Greek theatre and Japanese Noh and kabuki heavily influenced his music theatre.

Encouraged by his mother, Partch learned several instruments at a young age. By fourteen, he was composing, and in particular took to setting dramatic situations. He dropped out of the University of Southern California’s School of Music in 1922 over dissatisfaction with the quality of his teachers. He took to self-study in San Francisco’s libraries, where he discovered Hermann von Helmholtz’s Sensations of Tone, which convinced him to devote himself to music based on scales tuned in just intonation. In 1930, he burned all his previous compositions in a rejection of the European concert tradition. Partch frequently moved around the US. Early in his career, he was a transient worker, and sometimes a hobo; later he depended on grants, university appointments, and record sales to support himself. In 1970, supporters created the Harry Partch Foundation to administer Partch’s music and instruments.


1. Harry Partch – Introduction. True & Tempered Intervals (Live)
2. Harry Partch – Scales (Live)
3. Harry Partch – Progressions Within One Octave (Live)
4. Harry Partch – Setting Texts (Live)
5. Harry Partch – No. 1, The Lord Is My Shepherd (Live)
6. Harry Partch – Intro to “A Dream” (Live)
7. Harry Partch – No. 10b, A Dream [Live]
8. Harry Partch – No. 2, On the City Street [Live]
9. Harry Partch – No. 3, An Encounter in the Field [Live]
10. Harry Partch – No. 7, The Night of Sorrow [Live]
11. Harry Partch – No. 13, With a Man of Leisure [Live]
12. Harry Partch – No. 14, A Midnight Farewell [Live]
13. Harry Partch – Intro to “I Am a Peach Tree” (Live)
14. Harry Partch – No. 17, I Am a Peach Tree [Live]
15. Harry Partch – Intro “Barstow” (Live)
16. Harry Partch – Barstow (Live)
17. Harry Partch – Before (Live)
18. Harry Partch – After (Live)