Harry Belafonte – Belafonte Sings the Blues (1958/2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Harry Belafonte – Belafonte Sings the Blues (1958/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 00:45:09 minutes | 1,57 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © RCA/Legacy

Impex’s line of classic RCA Living Stereo releases now includes the inimitable vocal stylings of Harry Belafonte singing the timeless words and music of American blues in truly breathtaking sound. Belafonte Sings the Blues was recorded over four sessions during the first half of 1958, and released by RCA later that year. The album features thrilling performances of numerous Billie Holiday, Johnny Mercer, and Ray Charles songs, interpreted in a way that only Belafonte can. The blues are close to Belafonte’s heart and it clearly shows here on his renditions of such classics as “One For My Baby”, “Cotton Fields” and “God Bless the Child” among others!

After flirting with traditional African-American material in his previous albums, Belafonte, for the first time, devotes an entire album to the blues. However, of the eleven songs, only two could be classified as traditional blues: “In the Evenin’ Mama” and “Cotton Fields,” the latter given a five minute treatment. Belafonte would take this song on the road as part of his live act for the next decade. Of the other songs, three were covers of Ray Charles standards (“A Fool For You,” “Hallelujah I Love Her So,” “Mary Ann”). Another highlight is Belafonte’s rendition of Billie Holiday’s “God Bless the Child.” With few exceptions, the entire album is understated and not as exciting or riveting as other Belafonte records. Still, it’s solid listening, and taken track by track, thoughtful performances. Footnote: this was the first Belafonte album recorded in stereo. Some releases feature a thick, dark blue spine. ~~AllMusic Review by Cary Ginell

1. A Fool for You 03:40
2. Losing Hand 04:20
3. One for My Baby 04:33
4. In the Evening Mama 03:29
5. Hallelujah I Love Her So 02:52
6. The Way That I Feel 04:33
7. Cotton Fields 05:18
8. God Bless the Child 05:04
9. Mary Ann 02:47
10. Sinner’s Prayer 03:43
11. Fare Thee Well 04:44

Harry Belafonte with Orchestra
Alan Greene, Bob Corman, Dennis Farnon, conductor