Harriet Krijgh – Silent Dreams (2021) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Harriet Krijgh – Silent Dreams (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/192kHz | Time – 47:35 minutes | 1,83 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Universal Music, a division of Universal International Music BV

On Friday, October 1, 2021 the renowned Dutch artist Harriet Krijgh will release the album ‘Silent Dreams’ on the Deutsche Grammophon label. Together with pianist, Magda Amara, Harriet performs songs for cello and piano by German, French and Russian composers. Today sees the release of the first song, ‘Nacht und Tr”aume’ by Franz Schubert.

Especially for ‘Silent Dreams’ Harriet selected sixteen songs by classic composers such as Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Strauss and Poulenc. She cherishes all of these songs as they reflect her life as a performing musician. Longing and silence are recurring themes on the album. Harriet explains: “Silence is a part of me. I am an introverted person, even if my life as a travelling musician is hectic and noisy. It may sound paradoxical, but the cello brings me closer to that silence. The world often expects – particularly in this day and age – that we put ourselves forward as open, cheerful and strong. But it is so much better and more beautiful when people show their true feelings and vulnerabilities.”

From an early age Harriet grew up loving songs. “My grandmother deeply loved art, and especially music. At bedtime she came and sat on the edge of my bed and sang those beautiful German songs as lullabies to me,” Harriet says. Her love for songs grew even stronger when at the age of thirteen she started studying the cello in Vienna and first read great German poets such as Goethe and Heine. “The songs awoke something in me that I could not express myself. But they brought me wisdom and comfort.”

01. Harriet Krijgh – Schubert: An die Musik, Op. 88 No. 4, D. 547
02. Harriet Krijgh – Schubert: Nacht und Tr”aume, Op. 43 No. 2, D. 827
03. Harriet Krijgh – Schubert: Du bist die Ruh’, D. 776
04. Harriet Krijgh – Schubert: Am Tage aller Seelen, D. 343, ‘Litanei auf das Fest aller Seelen’
05. Harriet Krijgh – Stille Tr”anen
06. Harriet Krijgh – 24. Du bist wie eine Blume
07. Harriet Krijgh – 2. Auf Fl”ugeln des Gesanges, MWV K86
08. Harriet Krijgh – 5. Venetianisches Gondellied, MWV K114
09. Harriet Krijgh – 1. Wie Melodien zieht es mir
10. Harriet Krijgh – 2. Lerchengesang
11. Harriet Krijgh – 7. Le colibri
12. Harriet Krijgh – Poulenc: Les chemins de l’amour, FP 106
13. Harriet Krijgh – Glinka: I Remember a Wonderful Moment
14. Harriet Krijgh – 10. The Lark
15. Harriet Krijgh – 7. How Fair This Spot
16. Harriet Krijgh – 4. Morgen!