Hank Mobley – Hank Mobley Quartet (1955/2015) [ProStudioMasters FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Hank Mobley – Hank Mobley Quartet (1955/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time – 00:25:08 minutes | 829 MB | Genre: Jazz
Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | © Blue Note Records
Recorded: March 27, 1955 at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey.

Recorded in 1955 and released on 10-inch vinyl, this session from saxophonist Hank Mobley was his debut as leader and features an all-star quartet of former Jazz Messengers members Horace Silver on piano, Doug Watkins on bass and Art Blakey on drums. With the exception of Cole Porter’s show tune Love For Sale, the rest of the album consists of Mobley originals.

‘Hank Mobley was not just a master of hard bop but one of its founders. With the Jazz Messengers and Horace Silver’s Quintet, he helped to define the role of the tenor in hard bop, and his series of Blue Note recordings made him an influential force for 15 years. Originally a pianist, Mobley switched to tenor when he was 16, and by the early 1950s was a member of Max Roach’s quartet. Mobley was with Dizzy Gillespie’s group during 1954 before becoming an original member of the Jazz Messengers. At the time of this album, his first as a leader, Mobley was already a masterful player. Joined by both Horace Silver and Art Blakey, Mobley performs some of his best early material (including ‘Hank’s Prank,’ ‘Avila and Tequila’ and ‘Just Coolin”) and sets the standard for hard bop tenors of the next decade. The Hank Mobley Quartet is one of the most important early hard bop albums, a gem that shows why Mobley would be a regular Blue Note artist for the next 15 years.’

1. Hank’s Prank 04:29
2. My Sin 03:48
3. Avila And Tequila 04:31
4. Walkin’ The Fence 03:38
5. Love For Sale 04:30
6. Just Coolin’ 04:11

Hank Mobley, tenor saxophone
Horace Silver, piano
Doug Watkins, bass
Art Blakey, drums



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.