HAIM – Women In Music Pt. III (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

HAIM – Women In Music Pt. III (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 51:39 minutes | 1,14 GB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Polydor Records

The third album by the Haim sisters (Este, Alana and Danielle) is by far their best and most intimate. They skilfully mix a range of influences: pop, rock, R&B and even a hint of jazz through their use of brass, one example being the sax used on the opening track dedicated to their hometown Los Angeles (where they also criticise New York for its greyness…). This album comes out just at the right time, crowing a successful period that saw the three sisters headline the fourteenth Pitchfork Festival in Chicago in March 2019 alongside Robyn and the Isley Brothers. Danielle also featured on Vampire Weekend’s fourth album (Father of the Bride) and the Haim trio’s latest single appeared on October 30, 2019, announcing the album’s release (Now I’m In It). It was a song that seemed to be made for the mainstream, despite its lyrics that deal with depression, and was accompanied by a music video directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, the director of Boogie Nights and There Will Be Blood. Women in Music Pt. III is a truly endearing record that contains some beautiful moments such as the sunny Hallelujah or the bitter sweet Summer Girl that brings to mind the likes of Joni Mitchell and Fleetwood Mac, both artists that are adored by the Californian trio. – Yan Céh


1 Los Angeles
2 The Steps
3 I Know Alone
4 Up From A Drema
5 Gasoline
6 3 AM
7 Don’t Wanna
8 Another Try
9 Leaning On You
10 I’ve Been Down
11 Man From The Magazine
12 All That Ever Mattered
14 Now I’m In It
15 Hallelujah
16 Summer Girl