Gui Duvignau – Baden (2022) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Gui Duvignau – Baden (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:13:32 minutes | 1,22 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Sunnyside

The music of Brazilian guitarist and composer Baden Powell has enchanted listeners for decades. His ability to combine elements of jazz, classical, and Brazilian folkloric music into his own singular genre that was spoken only on his nylon string, acoustic guitar has maintained his quiet legend status throughout the world.

Born in France, but raised in Brazil, bassist/composer Gui Duvignau was drawn to the music of Baden Powell through his Brazilian guitarist friends, who all considered Powell a fundamental figure in the worlds of Brazilian music and acoustic guitar. During his own guitar study, Duvignau asked friends for pointers and they continually referred him to Powell’s techniques. Further exploration of Powell’s repertoire led the bassist to the revelations provided by the fantastic music of the guitarist.

Years of studying and performing the music of Baden Powell led Duvignau to the idea of developing a recording celebrating the great guitarist. Duvignau’s new recording, Baden, uses Powell’s beloved songs as a foundation for explorative interpretations and improvisations from Duvignau’s fantastic ensemble, along with two highly esteemed guests, Ron Carter and Bill Frisell.

01. Gui Duvignau – Canto de Ossanha (05:37)
02. Gui Duvignau – Canto de Xangô (07:12)
03. Gui Duvignau – Tristeza e Solidão (05:31)
04. Gui Duvignau – Ao Baden (06:49)
05. Gui Duvignau – Blues Preta / Asa Branca (06:16)
06. Gui Duvignau – Canto de Iemanjá (08:24)
07. Gui Duvignau – Refém da Solidão (04:39)
08. Gui Duvignau – O Astronauta (05:29)
09. Gui Duvignau – Mata adentro (04:33)
10. Gui Duvignau – Berimbau / Consolação (06:59)
11. Gui Duvignau – Lapinha (04:58)
12. Gui Duvignau – For Bill & Baden (06:56)