Grand Funk Railroad – Closer To Home (1970/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Grand Funk Railroad – Closer To Home (1970/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 44:54 minutes | 2,04 GB | Genre: Hard Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Digital Booklet | Label: Capitol Records

Closer to Home is the third studio album by Grand Funk Railroad, originally released in 1970 by Capitol Records. Produced by Terry Knight, the album reached RIAA gold record status in 1970, making it Grand Funk’s third gold record in one year. The album featured three singles, “Nothing is the Same”, “I’m Your Captain (Closer to Home)”, and “Mean Mistreater”. Closer to Home was the album that really helped Grand Funk Railroad break through to a level of commercial success that put them on the same level as Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath.

Closer to Home, the trio’s third album, was the record that really broke them through to the commercially successful level of metal masters such as Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. Rather than rushing headlong into their typical hard, heavy, and overamplified approach, Grand Funk Railroad began expanding their production values. Most evident is the inclusion of strings, the acoustic opening on the disc’s leadoff cut, “Sins a Good Man’s Brother,” as well as the comparatively mellow “Mean Mistreater.” But the boys had far from gone soft. The majority of Closer to Home is filled with the same straight-ahead rock & roll that had composed their previous efforts. The driving tempo of Mel Schacher’s viscous lead basslines on “Aimless Lady” and “Nothing Is the Same” adds a depth when contrasted to the soul-stirring and somewhat anthem-like “Get It Together.” The laid-back and slinky “I Don’t Have to Sing the Blues” also continues the trend of over-the-top decibel-shredding; however, instead of the excess force of other bands, such as MC5, Grand Funk Railroad are able to retain the often-elusive melodic element to their heavy compositions.

01 – Sin’s A Good Man’s Brother
02 – Aimless Lady
03 – Nothing Is The Same
04 – Mean Mistreater
05 – Get It Together
06 – I Don’t Have To Sing The Blues
07 – Hooked On Love
08 – Closer To Home (I’m Your Captain)