Grace Jones – Muse (1979/2015) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Grace Jones – Muse (1979/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 42:48 minutes | 1,87 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Island Records

„Muse“ was the last album of Jones’s disco trilogy recorded with producer Tom Moulton, which began in 1977 with debut „Portfolio“. As in the case of two previous records, the first side of the album is a continuous medley of four songs, joined by a narrative about someone who has sinned. The second side, however, consists of disco songs with no lyrical relation to one another. All album art, including the cover image, is by Richard Bernstein.

Great work from Grace Jones – still riding high on a disco wave here, but also finding her own space and sound too! The mighty Tom Moulton produced, ensuring some great sound for the set – and arrangements are by Thor Baldursson and John Davis, both of whom bring in nice sense of fullness, but never smother Grace too much – a key factor, given that her vocal approach is often a bit more restrained than some of the other disco divas of the time. There’s less covers here than before, and Grace herself even penned some of the tunes. Titles include ‘Suffer’, ‘Sinning’, ‘Saved’, ‘Atlantic City Gambler’, ‘On Your Knees’, and ‘Don’t Mess With The Messer“.

01. Sinning
02. Suffer
03. Repentance (Forgive Me)
04. Saved
05. Atlantic City Gambler
06. I’ll Find My Way To You
07. Don’t Mess With The Messer
08. On Your Knees

Grace Jones – vocals
Thor Baldursson – keyboards, arrangements
Don Renaldo – strings, horns
Craig Snyder – guitar
Jimmy Williams – bass
Keith Benson – drums
Jim Walker – percussion
Larry Washington – percussion
Carla Benson – background vocals
Evette Benton – background vocals
Carl Helm – background vocals
Phil Hurt – background vocals
Barbara Ingram – background vocals
Sweethearts of Sigma – background vocals
Ron Tyson – background vocals
Carl Davis – arrangements