George Cables – The George Cables Songbook (2016) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

George Cables – The George Cables Songbook (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 1:12:51 minutes | 1,31 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © HighNote

In the 1970s and ’80s, George Cables was the pianist of choice for saxophonists Dexter Gordon and Art Pepper and he also recorded a lot with jazz stars Joe Henderson, Freddie Hubbard, Bobby Hutcherson and Frank Morgan. On Cables’ own new album, it’s all personal. He’s a terrific pianist, but his new album illuminates his gifts as a composer as much as his skill at the keyboard. Cables’ student and outstanding vocalist in her own right, Sarah Elizabeth Charles has written lyrics for a number of Cables’ instrumental numbers and she appears on the album to deliver them with a real sense of swing, style and sensitivity. Reedman Craig Handy is also featured as is percussionist Steve Kroon, adding some extra subtle color to the proceedings. But the dominant leitmotif throughout it all is Cables and his piano playing which, with all its ease of execution and non-flashy excellence, is always present to give good taste a good name.

01. Traveling Lady
02. Aka Reggie
03. The Dark The Light
04. For Honey Lulu 5:49
05. Melodious Funk 6:27
06. Face The Consequences 5:20
07. Colors Of Light 8:43
08. Think On Me 5:55
09. The Mystery Of Monifa Brown 7:55
10. Baby Steps 6:19
11. Suite For Sweet Rita 5:43

George Cables – piano
Essiet Essiet – bass (except track 11)
Victor Lewis – drums (except track 11)
Sarah Elizabeth Charles – vocals (tracks 3, 4, 6, 7, 8 & 11)
Craig Handy – saxophones & flute (tracks 3, 4, 6 & 8)
Steven Kroon – percussion (tracks 3, 4 & 8)