Georg Nigl – Vanitas – Schubert, Beethoven & Rihm (2020) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Georg Nigl – Vanitas – Schubert, Beethoven & Rihm (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:33:12 minutes | 1,67 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

Like the paintings of the Flemish Baroque painters, the ‘vanities’ presented here can be approached in two ways: on the one hand, as manifestations of doubts and anxieties at the fragility of human life; on the other, as delights to be savoured without moderation, celebrating earthly life through the senses and the pleasure that human beings can derive from them.

After two critically acclaimed recordings each for Alpha, the baritone Georg Nigl and the pianist Olga Pashchenko explore the tortuous meanders of the human soul with vocal works by Schubert (an ‘existentialist’ composer if ever there was one), Beethoven (whose torments hardly need stressing) and the contemporary composer Wolfgang Rihm, whose highly expressionistic Jakob Lenz Nigl performed on stage in 2019. His piece Vermischter Traum, here given its world premiere, is dedicated to the Austrian singer.

“Nigl’s performance is beautifully controlled, suave almost; his soft-grained voice wraps itself easily around Rihm’s smoothly contoured vocal lines…There’s an easy familiarity about their Schubert performances, an almost private intimacy in which nothing is overstated…it’s a thoughtful, rewarding collection.” (The Guardian)


1. Georg Nigl – Im Freien, D. 880
2. Georg Nigl – Die Sommernacht, D. 289
3. Georg Nigl – Die Taubenpost, D. 965A
4. Georg Nigl – Die Forelle, D. 550
5. Georg Nigl – Der Wanderer an den Mond, D. 870
6. Georg Nigl – Das Zügenglöcklein, D. 871
7. Georg Nigl – Abendstern, D. 806
8. Georg Nigl – Fischerweise, D. 881
9. Georg Nigl – An die Ferne Geliebte, Op. 98
10. Georg Nigl – I. Majestoso sostenuto
11. Georg Nigl – II. Andante
12. Georg Nigl – III. Grave, ma non troppo
13. Georg Nigl – IV. Andante
14. Georg Nigl – V. Lento, ma non troppo
15. Georg Nigl – VI. Andante
16. Georg Nigl – VII. Con moto, appassionato
17. Georg Nigl – Der Winterabend, D. 938
18. Georg Nigl – Die Sterne, D. 939
19. Georg Nigl – An die Musik, D. 547
20. Georg Nigl – Wandrers Nachtlied, D. 768
21. Georg Nigl – Erlafsee, D. 586 (Bonus Track)
22. Georg Nigl – Abschied, D. 475 (Bonus Track)