Garbage – Beautiful Garbage (2001/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Garbage – Beautiful Garbage {Remastered} (2001/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44.1kHz  | Time – 53:00 minutes | 624 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | ©  Interscope

Garbage’s 2001 release and third album, debuted at #13 on the “Billboard 200.”

Beautiful Garbage (stylized as beautifulgarbage) is the third album by alternative rock group Garbage. The album was released worldwide in October 2001 by Mushroom Records UK and in North America by Interscope and was the followup to the band’s Grammy-nominated Version 2.0. Marking a departure from the sound Garbage had established on their first two records, Beautiful Garbage was written and recorded over the course of a year, during which time lead singer Shirley Manson chronicled their efforts weekly online, becoming one of the first high-profile musicians to keep an internet blog. The album is marked by expanding on the musical variety, with stronger melodies, more direct lyrics, and sounds that mix rock with electronica, new wave, hip hop and girl groups. The album’s title is taken directly from a lyric in the song “Celebrity Skin” by Hole.

Released three weeks after the September 11 attacks, the album suffered from lack of promotion, mixed reaction from critics, and the failure of its lead single “Androgyny” to achieve high chart positions. Despite faltering in major markets, Beautiful Garbage debuted at number 13 on the Billboard 200, number 1 on Billboard’s Top Electronic Albums, topped the album charts in Australia, and peaked within the top tens of multiple European countries. It was named one of Rolling Stone’s “Top 10 Albums of the Year”.

The great thing about Garbage — the thing that nobody wants to mention — is that they are veterans, from frontwoman Shirley Manson to the three studio pros who play the instruments. They slogged through the trenches of alt-rock in the ’80s, whether it was in the U.S. or the U.K., and they came together at the precise moment in the ’90s when they could fashion modern-sounding music with a keen eye to the present and modern. They consciously picked up elements from shoegazing, trip-hop, and indie rock — anything sonically interesting in the underground, crafting them together with skill and a keen commercial eye. On their third record, Beautiful Garbage, that’s more evident than ever, from how they approximate contemporary R&B with the sultry “Androgyny,” or the Minneapolis new wave bubblegum funk of “Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!),” or the bluesy PJ Harvey strut of “Silence Is Golden.” It’s all the more evident because this has a shiny, sugary, unabashedly pop coating, an element that Garbage clearly revel in, as well as should the listener. This is every bit as enticingly postmodern as their other albums, and it sounds distinctly Garbage — there are elements of My Bloody Valentine crashing up against Tricky, post-Madchester dance, jangle pop, goth stance, and classic pop — but they seem less like magpies, more themselves, which means Beautiful Garbage is a more consistent record. It’s unlikely to storm the charts like their first two records, especially since there aren’t standout singles like on the earlier albums, but overall the record works better, perhaps their best album. -AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Shut Your Mouth 3:26
2 Androgyny 3:10
3 Can’t Cry These Tears 4:16
4 Til The Day I Die 3:28
5 Cup Of Coffee 4:31
6 Silence Is Golden 3:50
7 Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go!) 3:12
8 Breaking Up The Girl 3:33
9 Drive You Home 3:58
10 Parade 4:07
11 Nobody Loves You 5:08
12 Untouchable 4:03
13 So Like A Rose 6:20

Shirley Manson – Vocals, guitar
Duke Erikson – Guitar, keyboards
Steve Marker – Guitar
Butch Vig – Drums, percussion
Daniel Shulman – bass
Matt Chamberlain – drums (3, 5)