Gábor Bolla – On the Move (2022) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Gábor Bolla – On the Move (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:00:04 minutes | 1,20 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Stunt Records

In the 1960s, at one of the pinnacles of jazz music’s international popularity, many American stars of the genre landed in Copenhagen to play at the legendary Jazz House Montmartre – with several of the most prominent instrumentalists settling in the Danish capital and subsequently enriching the local music scene there with their presence and playing. For the listeners who were in the audience at that time, it’s impossible to talk about jazz today for very long before they mention first-hand concert experiences with Ben Webster, Dexter Gordon, Stan Getz, Ed Thigpen, Brew Moore, Duke Jordan, Bud Powell, and Oscar Pettiford.

The steady flow of elite jazz immigrants to Denmark has somewhat waned in recent years but every so often a fully developed foreign phenomenon relocates to the Nordic jazz haven. And when present day jazz fans hear Hungarian saxophonist Gábor Bolla play in venues around Copenhagen, it harkens back to a lush, joyous time in Danish jazz. Like the aforementioned American expats did in the 60s, Gábor Bolla carefully and confidently assembles bands of local talent combined with stars from abroad. On this new album, the saxophonist has put together a stellar lineup and presents a program of his own compositions and jazz standards.

01. Gábor Bolla – Monky Donkey (07:50)
02. Gábor Bolla – Love Is Love (08:30)
03. Gábor Bolla – Chelsea Bridge (05:28)
04. Gábor Bolla – Blue Tarif (07:26)
05. Gábor Bolla – We See (05:23)
06. Gábor Bolla – Lament (06:33)
07. Gábor Bolla – Swingin’ At The Haven (05:12)
08. Gábor Bolla – Blues On The Move (06:04)
09. Gábor Bolla – Monky Donkey (Alternate Take) (07:38)