Frode Kjekstad – In Essence (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Frode Kjekstad – In Essence (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 40:55 minutes | 546 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Losen Records

The internationally recognized and critically acclaimed jazz guitarist Frode Kjekstad from Norway is out with a new CD! This time in the legendary trio format. This time only with original material. And: this time with Norwegian musicians! After previously having recorded with living jazz legends as Dr. Lonnie Smith, Eric Alexander and Byron Landham in his recordings done in New York, he now has brought his childhood friend and superb bass player Frode Berg, and the amazing drummer Magnus Sefaniassen Eide to a studio in Sandvika, Norway.

The result is the CD “Frode Kjekstad: In Essence”!

This CD is challenging the boundries of “jazz guitar as we know it” in different directions, always without changing genre, and with a crystal clear reference to history! With a charismatic, extrovert and virtuoso style so rare in present day jazz guitar, Frode Kjekstad is reaching towards a broader audience, with strong melodies, chilling rhythms, deep groove and heartfelt love for this music.

The trio is bursting with pure joy of playing together, almost jumping out of the speakers to grab you by the neck, in this magic session.

Joyful energy and musicality, all beautifully dressed up in a modern sound production, reaches beyond the boundries of genre, and schould be of great to joy to any music lover, no matter what musical referances one might have.

Frode Kjekstad was called “A young genious with perfect sense of time and rhythm” by Frank Forte (Just jazz guitar Magazine) and producer Joe Fields called him “the new Pat Martino”!

This CD is another brick in the wall that makes the fundament for Frode Kjekstad as one of our time´s strongest names in jazz guitar.

1. In Essence (05:53)
2. The Dark Hour (05:27)
3. Hot Gloves (04:22)
4. Leaving (08:08)
5. The Golden Apple (03:54)
6. A Walk In The Peacock Park (05:12)
7. Blues For J.D. (04:30)
8. Rude Waltz (03:49)