Freddie Hubbard – Sky Dive (1973/2016) [e-Onkyo FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Freddie Hubbard – Sky Dive (1973/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 34:43 minutes | 1,32 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Source: e-Onkyo | Front Cover | © CTI Records
Recorded: October 4-5, 1972 at Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey

Sky Dive is the twentieth album recorded in 1972 by jazz trumpeter Freddie Hubbard. It was his fourth album released on Creed Taylor’s CTI label and features performances by Hubbard, Keith Jarrett, George Benson, Ron Carter, Billy Cobham, Airto Moreira and Ray Barretto.

Freddie Hubbard’s fourth CTI recording (and the second one with Don Sebesky arrangements) certainly has a diverse repertoire. In addition to his originals “Povo” and “Sky Dive” (both of which are superior jam tunes), the trumpeter stretches out on the theme from The Godfather and Bix Beiderbecke’s “In a Mist.” The charts for the brass and woodwinds are colorful; there is a fine supporting cast that includes guitarist George Benson, Keith Jarrett on keyboards, and flutist Hubert Laws; and Hubbard takes several outstanding trumpet solos. -AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1 Povo 12:35
2 In A Mist 7:06
3 The Godfather 7:23
4 Sky Dive 7:39

Freddie Hubbard, trumpet
Alan Rubin, Marvin Stamm, trumpet, flugelhorn
Wayne Andre, Garnett Brown, trombone
Paul Faulise, bass trombone
Tony Price, tuba
Hubert Laws, flute, alto flute, bass flute
Phil Bodner, flute, alto flute, bass clarinet, piccolo
George Marge, alto clarinet, bass clarinet
Wally Kane, bass clarinet, piccolo
Romeo Penque, flute, alto flute, clarinet, oboe, English horn
Keith Jarrett, piano, electric piano
George Benson, guitar
Ron Carter, bass
Billy Cobham, drums
Ray Barretto, Airto Moreira, percussion
Don Sebesky, arranger, conductor