Frank Sinatra – Point Of No Return (1962) [MFSL 2013] {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz}

Frank Sinatra – Point Of No Return (1962) [MFSL 2013]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 39:21 minutes | Scans included | 1,21 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 806 MB
Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab # UDSACD 2112 | Genre: Vocal Jazz

At the time he recorded his final Capitol album, Point of No Return, Frank Sinatra was no longer interested in giving his record label first-rate material, preferring to save that for his new label, Reprise. However, someone persuaded the singer to make the album a special occasion by reuniting with Axel Stordahl, the arranger/conductor who helped Sinatra rise to stardom in the ’40s; he also arranged the vocalist’s first Capitol session, so his presence gave a nice sense of closure to the Capitol era. Even though the Voice gave a more heartfelt, dedicated performance than expected, the project was rushed along, necessitating the use of a ghost-arranger, Heine Beau, for several tracks. Point of No Return remains a touching farewell, consisting of moving renditions of standards like “September Song,” “There Will Never Be Another You,” “I’ll Remember April,” and “These Foolish Things,” with only three charts being replications of their previous work (“I’ll Be Seeing You,” “September Song,” “These Foolish Things”). Sinatra would never sing these standards with such detailed, ornate orchestrations, and, as such, the album has a feeling of an elegy.

01. When The World Was Young
02. I’ll Remember April
03. September Song
04. A Million Dreams Ago
05. I’ll See You Again
06. There Will Never Be Another You
07. Somewhere Along The Way
08. It’s A Blue World
09. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
10. As Time Goes By
11. I’ll Be Seeing You
12. Memories Of You

Mastered by Rob LoVerde at Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Sebastopol, CA.



FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz