Frank Sinatra – Come Fly With Me (1958/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Frank Sinatra – Come Fly With Me (1958/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 38:29 minutes | 785 MB | Genre: Pop, Easy Listening, Vocal Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Front cover | © Capitol Records

Designed as a musical trip around the world, Come Fly With Me was Frank Sinatra’s first collaboration with arranger/conductor, Billy May. Recorded at Capitol Studios and released in 1958, Come Fly With Me spent five weeks at number one on the charts. It was also Grammy-nominated for Album of the Year. Come Fly With Me was recorded in true stereo but was mixed to mono for its release, a standard practice by Capitol records at the time.

Constructed around a light-hearted travel theme, Come Fly With Me, Frank Sinatra’s first project with arranger Billy May, was a breezy change of pace from the somber Where Are You. From the first swinging notes of Sammy Cahn and Jimmy Van Heusen’s “Come Fly With Me” — which is written at Sinatra’s request — it’s clear that the music on the collection is intended to be fun. Over the course of the album, Sinatra and May travel around the world in song, performing standards like “Moonlight in Vermont” and “April in Paris,” as well as humorous tunes like “Isle of Capri” and “On the Road to Mandalay.” May’s signature bold, brassy arrangements give these songs a playful, carefree, nearly sarcastic feel, but never is the approach less than affectionate. In fact, Come Fly With Me is filled with varying moods and textures, as it moves from boisterous swing numbers to romantic ballads, and hitting any number of emotions in between. There may be greater albums in Sinatra’s catalog, but few are quite as fun as Come Fly With Me.

01 – Come Fly With Me
02 – Around The World
03 – Isle Of Capri
04 – Moonlight In Vermont
05 – Autumn In New York
06 – On The Road To Mandalay
07 – Let’s Get Away From It All
08 – April In Paris
09 – London By Night
10 – Brazil
11 – Blue Hawaii
12 – It’s Nice To Go Trav’ling