Frank Sinatra – A Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra (1957/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Frank Sinatra – A Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra (1957/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 32:07 minutes | 345 MB | Genre: Pop, Easy Listening, Vocal Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Front cover | Source: HDTracks | @ Capitol Records

Released in 1957 on Capitol, A Jolly Christmas from Frank Sinatra is Frank’s first-ever, full-length Christmas album. It features the Ralph Brewster Singers along with an orchestra conducted by Gordon Jenkins and includes the holiday favorite “Mistletoe and Holly,” co-written by Sinatra himself.

It can be argued that Sinatra never sounded fully comfortable singing Christmas carols, and this record is no exception. While his other albums of the period are bursting with dash and sensitivity, this is a distant, even slightly lackadaisical performance. It’s no dud on its own, but compared to the classic Christmas records of other artists, and especially to Sinatra’s best work, it is unusually somber. Gordon Jenkins’ adventurous arrangements are occasionally intrusive, but the album has touches of magic during “The Christmas Waltz” and “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear”.

01 – Jingle Bells
02 – The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
03 – Mistletoe And Holly
04 – I’ll Be Home For Christmas (If Only In My Dreams)
05 – The Christmas Waltz
06 – Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
07 – The First Noel
08 – Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
09 – O Little Town Of Bethlehem
10 – Adeste Fideles
11 – It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
12 – Silent Night

This release was remastered from the original 1/4″ analog tapes by Capitol Studios.
Tracks 7-12 are 44kHz sources mastered to 96/24.