François Lazarevitch and Justin Taylor – C. P. E. Bach: Sonatas for Flute and Fortepiano (2022) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

François Lazarevitch and Justin Taylor – C. P. E. Bach: Sonatas for Flute and Fortepiano (2022)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 01:19:52 minutes | 2,77 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Alpha Classics

With these sonatas by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, François Lazarevitch continues the exploration of the jewels of the flute and recorder repertory he has embarked on with Les Musiciens de Saint-Julien or as a soloist with recordings of music by Bach, Telemann, Vivaldi and van Eyck. François Lazarevitch and Justin Taylor now bring their sensitivity and virtuosity to bear on the sonatas for flute and obbligato harpsichord of Carl Philipp Emmanuel Bach.

The majority of these works date from the years 1745-66, when he was in the service of the flute-playing King Frederick II. Two solos complete the programme: the famous Sonata in A minor for unaccompanied flute and the Fantasia in F-sharp minor for keyboard, which testifies to Emanuel’s improvisational artistry.

Situated at the epicentre of the Enlightenment era, Bach’s second son was the key figure of Empfindsamkeit (sensibility), the movement that explored the deep and unfathomable stirrings of humanity and nature, countering the learned style of the early eighteenth-century masters with freedom of inspiration and hence emancipation of form. The artist now sought above all to express the impulses of the soul, displaying unexpected traits that sometimes verge on the bizarre.

01. François Lazarevitch – I. Allegretto (05:13)
02. François Lazarevitch – II. Largo (03:41)
03. François Lazarevitch – III. Allegro (06:32)
04. François Lazarevitch – I. Allegro un poco (04:19)
05. François Lazarevitch – II. Largo (05:57)
06. François Lazarevitch – III. Allegro (05:47)
07. François Lazarevitch – I. Poco adagio (04:23)
08. François Lazarevitch – II. Allegro (05:26)
09. François Lazarevitch – III. Allegro (04:47)
10. François Lazarevitch – I. Allegro di molto (03:00)
11. François Lazarevitch – II. Andante (04:58)
12. François Lazarevitch – III. Allegretto (05:46)
13. Justin Taylor – I. Adagio – Allegretto (02:27)
14. Justin Taylor – II. Largo – Adagio – Largo (04:07)
15. Justin Taylor – III. Adagio – Allegretto – Adagio – Allegretto – Largo (03:49)
16. François Lazarevitch – I. Allegro (03:30)
17. François Lazarevitch – II. Adagio (03:45)
18. François Lazarevitch – III. Presto (02:16)