Francois-Frederic Guy – Montalbetti: Solos, a Personal Diary in Music (2016) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

François-Frédéric Guy – Montalbetti: Solos, a Personal Diary in Music (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:06:34 minutes | 693 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

This album of ‘solos’ for various different instruments constitutes the composer’s ‘personal diary’ over some twenty-five years. Eric Montalbetti, who was artistic director of the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France from 1996 to 2014, long kept his music a secret, composing for himself, as if he were keeping a diary. Yet he had been composing since the age of eleven, while also learning the piano and the organ. He was taught by Paul Méfano and Michaël Levinas, and attended masterclasses with George Benjamin and Magnus Lindberg. In 1990 he received prizes from the Sacem and the Menuhin Foundation for his Violin Sonata. He seeks in music a language capable of expressing our most varied emotions: vital energy, interrogation, anxiety, mourning, rage, hope, prayer, love, gratitude. Trois études après Kandinsky for piano, Esprit tendre for oboe (a tribute to Helen and Elliott Carter), the Sonata for solo violin in four movements, a Suite for cello, five Formants for solo clarinet, and La Prière de l’Ange gardien for solo horn make up this program, which is performed by some of the finest soloists on the current French scene.


01. François-Frédéric Guy – Deux traits noirs
02. François-Frédéric Guy – De l’obscurité des sphères à leur éclat – After “Yellow-Red-Blue”
03. François-Frédéric Guy – Furieusement amoureux – After “Lyrical”
04. Jean-Louis Capezzali – Esprit tendre for Solo Oboe
05. Tedi Papavrami – First Movement
06. Tedi Papavrami – Second Movement
07. Tedi Papavrami – Third Movement
08. Tedi Papavrami – Fourth Movement
09. Marc Coppey – Elégie
10. Marc Coppey – L’absent
11. Marc Coppey – Bicinium
12. Nicolas Baldeyrou – Formant I
13. Nicolas Baldeyrou – Formant II
14. Nicolas Baldeyrou – Formant III
15. Nicolas Baldeyrou – Formant IV
16. Nicolas Baldeyrou – Formant V
17. David Guerrier – Prière de l’ange gardien for Solo Horn

Eric Montalbetti, composer
François-Frédéric Guy, piano
Tedi Papavrami, violin
Marc Coppey, cello
Nicolas Baldeyrou, clarinet
Jean-Louis Capezzali, oboe
David Guerrier, trumpet