Foreigner – Agent Provocateur (1984/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Foreigner – Agent Provocateur (1984/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 42:35 minutes | 1,62 GB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover

Agent Provocateur is Foreigner’s 1984 masterpiece. This acclaimed concept album is certified triple Platinum in the United States and platinum in the U.K., Germany and Switzerland. It reached the top five in Canada, Germany, New Zealand, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, the U.K. and the United States. Included is one of their biggest, chart-topping hits, “I Want To Know What Love Is”.

It took Foreigner three years to release a follow-up to its 1981 blockbuster, 4. Perhaps that wait wasn’t long enough, because Agent Provocateur is a prime example of the best and worst traits of AOR: a handful of remarkable songs padded by toothless filler. Despite contributing a few killer riffs to Foreigner’s ’70s canon, guitarist/keyboardist Mick Jones isn’t known for his six-string abilities. His biggest strength is his knack for melody as a songwriter, keyboardist, and producer, and all these qualities are evident on Agent Provocateur. Of course, vocalist/songwriter Lou Gramm is indispensable as the band’s golden-throated frontman. Jones largely guided things behind the studio console, but a co-producer usually helped, such as Alex Sadkin on this album. “I Want to Know What Love Is” became Foreigner’s first and only number one single, and it’s not hard to see why. Its dreamy, hypnotic feel is due in part to Gramm’s soulful lead vocals and the New Jersey Mass Choir’s background vocals. Jennifer Holliday and the Thompson Twins’ Tom Bailey help out as well. “That Was Yesterday,” a terrific hit single, features a catchy chorus and a nifty synthesizer lick. “Reaction to Action” and “Down on Love” were both minor hits, but there’s a huge difference in quality between the two; the former is the epitome of bland, formulaic AOR, while the latter includes a pleasant chorus and a warm keyboard melody. “A Love in Vain” and “Growing Up the Hard Way” have a few good moments too.

01 – Tooth And Nail
02 – That Was Yesterday
03 – I Want To Know What Love Is
04 – Growing Up The Hard Way
05 – Reaction To Action
06 – Stranger In My Own House
07 – A Love In Vain
08 – Down On Love
09 – Two Different Worlds
10 – She’s Too Tough