Foehn Trio – Highlines (2020) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Foehn Trio – Highlines (2020)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 54:39 minutes | 1,0 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Mad Chaman

From the name of an ancestral wind transporting every grain of sand from the Sahara to the mountains of the Alps, the Fœhn trio takes you on a musical journey filled with emotion and bonding. Melodic and contemporary, Fœhn’s music invites the public from the first notes to enter into its singular imagination, oscillating between acoustics and amplification, between intimacy and power.

Exploring the relationship between acoustic and electronic sounds is a path taken by many contemporary jazzmen. But with Highlines , Fœhn Trio is doing more than just adding to the ranks of ambassadors for hybrid jazz. With their second album, the Lyonnais trio of pianist Christophe Waldner, bassist Cyril Billot and drummer Kevin Borqué perfect their writing both melodically and harmonically. Obviously, the heart of this intoxicating record is above all its rhythm. This never prevents the three musicians from expressing themselves in one voice and not contenting themselves with punchy sequences. On some tracks like Danse pour Gaia, the climatic textures make the whole even more cinematic than its parts. And when electronics seem to take over, the music remains organic, never dehumanised. Finally, when Fœhn Trio climbs Satie mountain (with an amazing rereading of the Gnossienne n°1), they allows themselves some welcome liberties… Fender Rhodes, synths, drum machines and signature guests (trumpeter Erik Truffaz on Old Ocean and flautist Joce Mienniel on Free Ride) further condense Highlines and confirm that the young group probably still has a lot to say… – Marc Zisman

1. Wolves (06:03)
2. La Barma (05:32)
3. Danse pour Gaia feat. Joce Mienniel (06:37)
4. Freeride (02:47)
5. La Gnossienne No1 (04:51)
6. Old Ocean feat. Erik Truffaz (06:24)
7. La Vengeance de Mme Carle (05:39)
8. Chimeres (02:07)
9. Cirrus (05:49)
10. Liquid Ambar (02:33)
11. Camera Obscura (06:24)