Fiona Boyes – Voodoo in the Shadows (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Fiona Boyes – Voodoo in the Shadows (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 45:21 minutes | 497 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download  | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Reference Recordings

Fiona Boyes is Australia’s most successful and celebrated international Blues artist. Her previous Reference Recordings release, Professin’ The Blues, received the 2017 Acoustic Album of the Year award from Blues Blast Magazine. The Blues Foundation in Memphis has honored her with 6 Blues Music Award nominations, including Acoustic Album of the Year and Best Acoustic Artist in 2017. In 2003, she won their International Blues Challenge, representing The Melbourne Blues Appreciation Society.

This new album, Voodoo In The Shadows, is a self-produced session by the multi-talented guitarist/singer-songwriter, exploring the allure of the back roads from Memphis, through Mississippi, to New Orleans and down to the Gulf. In 11 songs, including 9 originals, we hear stories of respect, partying, attitude, mystery, sensuality, and love.

Joining her are two Australian bandmates: multi-instrumentalist Tim Neal (Hammond B3, piano, bass and baritone sax) and drummer/percussionist Mark Gruden, plus Johnny Sansone, one of New Orleans’ nest musicians, who adds his harmonica and accordion to richly season this international gumbo! As is customary, Fiona plays a cornucopia of guitars; her 6-string Maton, three cigar-box instruments and her rare baritone National Resolectric. Players combine in several groupings, featuring their different instruments, and a collaborative magic emerges, taking listeners along on the journey.

1. Call Their Name
2. Party at Red’s
3. What You Put On Me
4. Dark and Dangerous Love
5. Little Things
6. New Orleans
7. Don’t Leave Your Feet at Home
8. I Ain’t Fooling
9. With a Little Respect
10. Tell Your Story Walking
11. Ember

Fiona Boyes, electric, baritone & cigar box guitars, vocals
Tim Neal, Hammond, piano, bass, baritone saxophone
Mark Grunden, drums, percussion, chains & horseshoes
Johnny Sansone, harmonica, accordion

Recorded and Mixed at Thirty Mill Studios, Australia Recorded December 8 & 9, 2017 and January 16 & 17, 2018
Engineered by Colin Wynne at Thirty Mill Studios Produced by Fiona Boyes
Mastered by Joseph Carra at Crystal Mastering, Australia