Finghin Collins – Chopin Recital (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Finghin Collins – Chopin Recital (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:08:11 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Claves Records

One of Ireland’s most successful musicians, pianist Finghin Collins was born in Dublin in 1977 and studied piano at the Geneva Conservatoire with Dominique Merlet. Winner of the RTÉ Musician of the Future Competition in 1994, he went on to take first prize at the Clara Haskil International Piano Competition in Switzerland in 1999. Since then he has continued to enjoy a flourishing international career that takes him all over the world. Collins has performed with such orchestras as the Chicago and Houston Symphony Orchestras, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Gulbenkian Orchestra, Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, BBC Symphony and BBC Philharmonic Orchestras, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, garnering consistent praise from critics and public alike. Chamber music plays a significant role in his musical life. In 2013 he completed his three-year tenure as Associate Artist of the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra in Dublin, completing a cycle of the complete Mozart and Beethoven piano concertos. Over the past two decades Collins has developed a close relationship with Claves Records, recording two double albums of Schumann’s piano music in 2006 and 2009 which won numerous awards including Gramophone’s Editor’s Choice. The current Chopin recording is a judicious medley of famous – a Prélude, the Fourth Ballade, the Polonaise-fantaisie – and more confidential works among which a handful of Mazurkasand Nocturnes.


Frédéric Chopin (1810-1849)
01. Mazurka, Op. 17: I. Vivo e risoluto
02. Mazurka, Op. 17: II. Lento, ma non troppo
03. Mazurka, Op. 17: III. Legato assai
04. Mazurka, Op. 17: IV. Lento, ma non troppo
05. Nocturnes, Op. 32: I. Andante sostenuto
06. Nocturnes, Op. 32: II. Lento
07. Prelude in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 45: Sostenuto
08. Ballade No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 52: Andante con moto
09. Nocturnes, Op. 48: I. Lento
10. Nocturnes, Op. 48: II. Andantino
11. Polonaise-Fantaisie in A-Flat Major, Op. 61: Allegro maestoso

Finghin Collins, piano