Fergus McCreadie – Cairn (2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Fergus McCreadie – Cairn (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:01:03 minutes | 667 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Edition Records

Fergus McCreadie is a complete and well-rounded musician, a passionate communicator and consummate performer. He is a composer of elegant, nuanced and captivating music as well as a pianist and improviser of exceptional ability and originality.

Since he burst onto the national scene with his self-released debut album Turas in 2018, Fergus has racked up awards including Album of the Year at the Parliamentary and Scottish Jazz Awards, the shortlist of cross-genre Scottish Album of the Year Award 2019, finalist in the 2018 BBC Jazz Musician of the Year and more recently, in October 2020, he was awarded Best Instrumentalist at the Scottish Jazz Awards.

Cairn is the highly anticipated follow-up to Fergus’ debut and despite all the hype this new album is gaining, he delivers in spades. Cairn is an album inspired by the tradition and landscape of his native Scotland. It declares itself with an energetic freshness of sound and originality reminiscent of the dynamism and personality with which the likes of piano trios The Bad Plus and EST emerged almost two decades ago. Responding to the circumstances of a vastly changed era, Fergus and his trio, with their profoundly mesmerising and compelling music, look set to evoke similar trajectories in progressing to the global stage. They certainly have the necessary instrumental command, musical maturity, sophisticated communication and native originality to do so.


1. Fergus McCreadie – North
2. Fergus McCreadie – Cairn
3. Fergus McCreadie – Across Flatlands
4. Fergus McCreadie – The Stones of Brodgar
5. Fergus McCreadie – Jig
6. Fergus McCreadie – Tide
7. Fergus McCreadie – Tree Climbing
8. Fergus McCreadie – An Old Friend
9. Fergus McCreadie – Cliffside