Fanny Azzuro – Rachmaninoff: The Landscapes of the Soul (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Fanny Azzuro – Rachmaninoff: The Landscapes of the Soul (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:18:35 minutes | 1,09 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © RUBICON

“Recording the complete Preludes is like painting notes with an unlimited palette of sound!” writes pianist Fanny Azzuro in the notes to her debut album for Rubicon. “Playing this music is exhilarating. The danger is that you lose control of your emotions and yield to the temptation to pile on the pathos in music that is so naturally expressive.

The French pianist Fanny Azzuro is the winner of several international competitions, including the World Piano Competition in Cincinnati. Her penchant for Russian music is confirmed in her new album devoted to the twenty-four Rachmaninov Preludes. Fanny Azzuro was still just a student at the Paris Conservatoire when pianist Vladimir Viardo set her to work on Rachmaninov’s Variations on a Theme of Corelli during a master class. From then on Russian music became one of her principal interests.

For Fanny Azzuro, Rachmaninov’s twenty-four Preludes bear witness to the landscape of the Russian soul. They were very well described by the composer himself, as the pianist likes to say, quoting Rachmaninov: “The work must become a part of the pianist. Each note must bring an awareness of his true artistic mission”. “Playing this music is exhilarating”, she says, but Fanny Azzuro never loses the thread nor is she overwhelmed by the pathos and powerful expression of the Russian composer.

1. Morceaux de fantaisie, Op. 3: II. Prélude in C-Sharp Minor (04:31)
2. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: I. Largo in F-Sharp Minor (03:25)
3. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: II. Maestoso in B-Flat Major (03:24)
4. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: III. Tempo di minuetto in D Minor (03:58)
5. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: IV. Andante cantabile in D Major (04:56)
6. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: V. Alla marcia in G Minor (03:53)
7. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: VI. Andante in E-Flat Major (02:56)
8. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: VII. Allegro in C Minor (02:25)
9. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: VIII. Allegro vivace in A-Flat Major (03:08)
10. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: IX. Presto in E-Flat Minor (02:06)
11. 10 Préludes, Op. 23: X. Largo in G-Flat Major (03:56)
12. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: I. Allegro vivace in C Major (01:10)
13. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: II. Allegretto in B-Flat Minor (03:03)
14. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: III. Allegro vivace in E Major (02:26)
15. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: IV. Allegro con brio in E Minor (05:42)
16. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: V. Moderato in G Major (03:17)
17. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: VI. Allegro appassionato in F Minor (01:23)
18. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: VII. Moderato in F Major (02:52)
19. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: VIII. Vivo in A Minor (01:47)
20. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: IX. Allegro moderato in A Major (02:56)
21. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: X. Lento in B Minor (05:15)
22. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: XI. Allegretto in B Major (02:15)
23. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: XII. Allegro in G-Sharp Minor (02:38)
24. 13 Préludes, Op. 32: XIII. Grave in D-Flat Major (05:13)