Fairport Convention – What We Did On Our Saturday (2018) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Fairport Convention – What We Did On Our Saturday (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 02:04:43 minutes | 1,53 GB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Matty Grooves

“What We Did On Our Saturday” is a double CD recorded live at a landmark concert by the founders of the British Folk-Rock genre, legendary folk-rock band Fairport Convention.

The band celebrated its 50th anniversary in front of 20,000 fans at its own Cropredy festival on 12 August 2017. The 25 tracks span the band’s entire history and the album features the current line-up plus a galaxy of former members and guests including Richard Thompson, Ashley Hutchings, Iain Matthews, Dave Mattacks, Judy Dyble, Maartin Allcock and Ralph McTell.

Fairport Convention are indisputably one of the best groups in the Californian-inspired wave of British folk rock, and have been since their first eponymous album, released in 1968. With voices that sound like something from the Mamas and the Papas, Dylanesque acoustics, and talented songwriters, the group got better with each passing album. What We Did On Our Saturday is made up of no fewer than 25 tracks which provide a masterful account of the tradition. Blending traditional British folk, steel guitar, Californian sounds, and solo picking, all into a rock groove, Fairport Convention knew how to seduce the USA. A year after they celebrated their half-century, they retrace their musical steps in this double volume. It’s no surprise, then, that Time Will Show The Wiser should be the first track, followed by Reno Nevada from 1968. But then there is a little surprise: the sublime Suzanne by Leonard Cohen gives us the voice of Judy Dyble, the first Fairport singer. Chris Leslie picked this classic: a poignant and faithful version. This is not a simple playlist, but a real revisiting of some songs, interpreted by new members or with an enriched composition. It’s an album where current or old members rub shoulders, including Richard Thompson, Ashley Hutchings, Iain Matthews, Dave Mattacks, Judy Dyble, Martin Allcock and Ralph McTell.  – Clara Bismuth


CD 1
1. Time Will Show the Wiser 03:30
2. Reno Nevada 05:56
3. Suzanne 06:37
4. Farewell Farewell 03:15
5. Crazy Man Michael 05:33
6. Come All Ye 04:52
7. The Deserter 04:32
8. The Lark in the Morning Medley 04:44
9. Tam Lin 07:55
10. Walk Awhile 04:24
11.Poor Will and the Jolly Hangman 06:05
12. Sloth 09:23

CD 2
1. Now Be Thankful 03:28
2. Fotheringay 03:19
3. Ned Kelly 03:45
4. Rising for the Moon 04:16
5. White Dress 03:31
6. A Surfeit of Lampreys 02:56
7. The Hiring Fair 07:30
8. The Hexhamshire Lass 02:51
9. Who Knows Where the Time Goes? 05:48
10. Our Bus Rolls On 04:11
11. Dirty Linen 04:35
12. Matty Groves 06:06
13. Meet on the Ledge 05:41