Fadhilee Itulya – Shindu Shi (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Fadhilee Itulya – Shindu Shi (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 01:02:46 minutes | 668 MB | Genre: World, Afrobeat
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Naxos World Music

Inspired by the 1950s finger-picking guitar style of Omutibo, SHINDU SHI focuses on good time music grounded in culture, community and love for Africa and its people.

An upbeat album of Omutibo, acoustic folk, pop, dance and world music inspired by the Luhya people of Western Kenya and the late pioneer of Omutibo – George Mukabi.

‘SHINDU SHI’ is one of the most common and versatile Luyha phrases and serves as an exclamation for many situations… if you were annoyed you would say ‘SHINDU SHI’, or happy or impressed. “Even if you’re not impressed you still say ‘SHINDU SHI’” laughs Fadhilee. It means “WHAT?” – what is this? what is that?

The album is aptly named for the unforgettable year of 2020. Fadhilee saw that year as a slap in the face, everyone wondering “what is this virus?” and “what is going on with the world?”

Grounded on Fadhilee’s love for Africa, this album spans from spiritual songs inspired by a Christian background, odes to Kenyan legends, stories of heartbreak and new love, family tragedies and a bit of call-and-response jesting humour. A gorgeously recorded, intimately connective listening experience.

1. Njoo (04:15)
2. Pombe (07:28)
3. Wasi Wasi (03:46)
4. Aoko (06:34)
5. Sengonanga (05:11)
6. Amina (04:05)
7. Afirika (07:28)
8. Marashi ya Pemba (03:41)
9. Watoto wa Kenya (05:53)
10. Jamriambo (05:18)
11. Grace (04:34)
12. Asalam Aleikum (04:33)