Fabolous & Jadakiss – Friday On Elm Street (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Fabolous & Jadakiss – Friday On Elm Street (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 43:38 minutes | 528 MB | Genre: Rap
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Virgin EMI

There probably was greater demand for a Fabolous and Jadakiss collaborative album in 2002, but far less likelihood of it actually happening. At their commercial peak, the two were inverses of each other: Jadakiss, the grimy hardhead whose overt pop concessions never gave him a bigger single than the one with the 9/11 trutherism; Fabolous, flippant and frivolous, sounding effortless over the flossiest beats of the “MTV Cribs” era.

But on the time since, they’ve remained respected veterans with mixtapes and guest verses that play to their strengths without having to address their weaknesses: beat selection, development of a multi-layered personality, artistic evolution, the sort of things that result in great albums. And so what Summerland Tour is to KROQ, Friday on Elm Street is to Hot 97, a nostalgic package deal that consolidates all of the fond memories of past radio hits at the expense of everything that kept their CDs readily available at your local Disc Go Round.

Friday on Elm Street has been in development for damn near two years, so it can’t be accused of trying to bandwagon 21 Savage and Offset’s Without Warning. But their commitment to the slasher-flick aesthetic lasts about as long as the intro, which makes a more accurate sales pitch: Fab spends several bars working towards a Harold Miner gag, while Jadakiss rhymes over the drums from Notorious B.I.G.’s “Dead Wrong,” both serving as an ID check to clear out anyone under the age of 30.

01. F vs J Intro
02. Stand Up feat Future
03. Theme Music feat Swizz Beatz
04. Ground Up
05. Soul Food
06. Principles
07. Talk About It feat Teyana Taylor
08. All About It feat French Montana
09. I Pray feat Swizz Beatz
10. Ice Pick feat Styles P
11. Nightmares Ain’t As Bad
12. Stand Up feat Future, Yo Gotti & Jeezy [Remix]