Evelyn “Champagne” King – A Long Time Coming (Expanded) (1985/2014) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Evelyn “Champagne” King – A Long Time Coming (Expanded) (1985/2014) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:49:38 minutes | 2,41 GB | Genre: Funk, Soul, R&B, Disco
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Legacy Recordings

Succumbing to computerized R&B trends of the day, King’s swan song for RCA is perhaps the least impressive of her catalog for the label, spare a couple of saving moments. Generic dance numbers such as “If You Find the Time” and “I’m Scared” lack any riveting melodies or arrangements. Nonetheless, King injects her usual zest into the mediocre material, turning what would be mere throwaway entries into moderately enjoyable ditties. In a sort of return to roots, there’s a remake of Sam Cooke’s “A Long Time Coming,” the song King was singing when producer T. Life discovered her at Sigma Studios in 1976. This is one of the set’s better moments; the others are the memorable “Chemistry of Love” and the Top Ten R&B hit “Your Personal Touch.” Even on the latter, however, the instrumental feel is disappointingly thin and not nearly as funky as earlier efforts. Only King completists will find this a necessary addition to their collections.

01. Chemistry of Love
02. A Change Is Gonna Come
03. Spellbound
04. If You Find the Time
05. Slow Down
06. If I Let Myself Go
07. Your Personal Touch
08. I’m Scared
09. High Horse

Extended Version:
01. Slow Down (Remix)
02. Slow Down (Dub A)
03. Slow Down (Dub B)
04. Slow Down (Edited Remix Version)
05. Better Deal (7″ Version)
06. Take a Chance (7″)
07. Take a Chance (12″ Version)
08. High Horse (Remix)
09. High Horse (Dub Version)
10. Give It Up (7″ Single Version)
11. Give It Up (Killer Dance Mix)
12. Give It Up (Dub Mix)
13. Your Personal Touch (Edited Version)
14. Your Personal Touch (Dance Version)