Eric Dolphy – Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions (2019) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Eric Dolphy – Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 02:37:43 minutes | 1,96 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD

Musical Prophet: The Expanded 1963 New York Studio Sessions is the first official release of previously unissued Eric Dolphy studio recordings in over 30 years! This release of over 158 minutes of music contains the under-appreciated masterpiece albums Conversations and Iron Man, recorded in New York City in July of 1963. Originally produced by Alan Douglas with 85 minutes of extremely rare, previously-unissued recordings from the sessions, the tapes had been stored in a suitcase with Dolphy’s personal belongings and given to friends Hale and Juanita Smith before he embarked on his fateful European trip in 1964. Five decades later, the suitcase was given to flutist/educator James Newton, who then connected with Zev Feldman at Resonance and began working on this definitive edition of Dolphy’s 1963 New York studio sessions with the only copies of the tapes known to exist.

The limited-edition set features jazz greats such as saxophonist Sonny Simmons, trumpeter Woody Shaw, bassist Richard Davis and NEA Jazz Master Vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson plus others. The exhaustive booklet includes rare and previously unpublished photos by Chuck Stewart, Jean-Pierre Leloir, Val Wilmer and others; essays by jazz author and scholar Robin D.G. Kelley, Douglas label manager Michael Lemesre, Japanese Dolphy scholar Masakazu Sato, and co-producers Zev Feldman and James Newton; interviews with jazz icons Sonny Rollins, Sonny Simmons, Richard Davis, Henry Threadgill, Nicole Mitchell, Steve Coleman, David Murray, Bill Laswell, Oliver Lake, and Han Bennink.

01. Jitterbug Waltz (07:16)
02. Music Matador (09:38)
03. Love Me (03:19)
04. Alone Together (13:19)
05. Muses for Richard Davis (previously unissued 1) (07:34)
06. Muses for Richard Davis (previously unissued 2) (08:21)
07. Iron Man (09:11)
08. Mandrake (04:46)
09. Come Sunday (06:28)
10. Burning Spear (11:59)
11. Ode to Charlie Parker (08:05)
12. A Personal Statement (14:59)
13. Music Matador (alternative take) (07:56)
14. Love Me (alternative take 1) (02:21)
15. Love Me (alternative take 2) (03:40)
16. Alone Together (alternative take) (12:15)
17. Jitterbug Waltz (alternative take) (09:23)
18. Mandrake (alternative take) (06:40)
19. Burning Spear (alternative take) (10:33)

Eric Dolphy, alto saxophone, flute, bass clarinet
William “Prince” Lasha, flute
Huey “Sonny” Simmons, alto saxophone
Clifford Jordan, soprano saxophone
Woody Shaw, trumpet
Garvin Bushell, bassoon
Bobby Hutherson, vibes
Richard Davis, bass
Eddie Kahn, bass
J.C. Moses, mdrums
Charles Moffett, drums

Digitally remastered