Eric Clapton – Money And Cigarettes (1983/2012) [HDTracks 24bit/96kHz]

Eric Clapton – Money And Cigarettes (1983/2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 37:32 minutes | 816 MB | Genre: Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover

With the release of Eric Clapton’s Money and Cigarettes, the multi-Grammy Award winner and three time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, further solidified his place as one of music’s greatest. An album full of important milestones and smooth guitar licks finds the influential musician collaborating with new players including Stax Records’ veteran bassist Donald “Duck” Dunn, guitarist Ry Cooder and drummer Roger Hawkins. Included is the breakout hit single “I’ve Got A Rock N’ Roll Heart,” the gorgeous acoustic ballad “Pretty Girl,” and riveting renditions of Albert King’s “Crosscut Saw” and Johnny Otis’ “Crazy Country Hop.” A pinnacle effort in a long standing legacy, available as a hi-res download!

Money and Cigarettes marked several important turning points in Eric Clapton’s recording career. It was his debut release on his own Duck imprint within Warner Bros.’ Reprise Records subsidiary. It was also the first album he made after coming to terms with his drinking problem by giving up alcohol. Newly focused and having written a batch of new songs, he became dissatisfied with his longtime band and fired them, with the exception of second guitarist Albert Lee. In their place, he hired session pros like Stax Records veteran bassist Donald “Duck” Dunn and Muscle Shoals drummer Roger Hawkins, also bringing in guest guitarist Ry Cooder. His new songs reflected on his changed condition, with “Ain’t Going Down,” a thinly veiled musical rewrite of the Jimi Hendrix arrangement of “All Along the Watchtower,” serving as a statement of purpose that declared, “I’ve still got something left to say.” “The Shape You’re In” was a criticism of his wife for her alcoholism that concluded, “I’m just telling you baby ’cause I’ve been there myself,” while the lengthy acoustic ballad “Pretty Girl” and “Man in Love” reaffirmed his feelings for her. The album’s single was the relatively slight pop tune “I’ve Got a Rock n’ Roll Heart,” but Clapton’s many blues fans must have been most pleased with the covers of Sleepy John Estes’ “Everybody Oughta Make a Change” (significantly placed as the album’s leadoff track), Albert King’s “Crosscut Saw,” and Johnny Otis’ “Crazy Country Hop.” For all the changes and the high-powered sidemen, though, Money and Cigarettes ended up being just an average effort from Clapton, which his audience seems to have sensed since, despite the Top 20 placement for the single, it became his first album in more than six years to miss the Top Ten and fail to go gold.

01 – Everybody Oughta Make a Change
02 – The Shape You’re In
03 – Ain’t Going Down
04 – I’ve Got a Rock ‘n’ Roll Heart
05 – Man Overboard
06 – Pretty Girl
07 – Man In Love
08 – Crosscut Saw
09 – Slow Down Linda
10 – Crazy Country Hop



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.