Eric Bibb – Dear America (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Eric Bibb – Dear America (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 51:58 minutes | 981 MB | Genre: Blues
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Provogue Records

The scion of a musical dynasty (his father was folk-singer Leon Bibb and his uncle was jazzman John Lewis), Eric Bibb released his first album almost 50 years ago. He grew up in the blues, but he has long been much, much more than simply a bluesman. He has travelled and lived extensively outside the United States, sought inspiration in African music, and refined his technique through contact with other styles and musicians. Dear America, released in the year of his 70th birthday, is a kind of return to his roots. This is a historian’s album, which visits some tragic pages of Afro-American history in song. Musically, this is a record rooted in blues, soul and gospel choirs. These are genres so old and well-worn that one wonders how musicians can still draw life from them without falling into clich’es. But Eric Bibb succeeds, and with young-at-heart verve, he transforms this return to the roots into an elixir of youth. He does not handle this old music like an antiques dealer, but like a craftsman or a sculptor who is perpetually dazzled by the forms that emerge from the raw material. The picking is soft, the tempo laid-back, and all the tracks here are bathed in a sober elegance. He moves from blues to acoustic soul or folk with a unique fluidity that he shares with his musicians, including drummer Steve Jordan, bassist Ron Carter, guitarist Eric Gales, singers Shaneeka Simon and Lisa Mills. This is an album of American music by a zen master of the form. – St’ephane Deschamps

1. Whole Lotta Lovin’ (feat. Ron Carter) (03:33)
2. Born Of A Woman (feat. Shaneeka Simon) (03:47)
3. Whole World’s Got The Blues (feat. Eric Gales) (05:33)
4. Dear America (03:47)
5. Different Picture (feat. Chuck Campbell) (05:36)
6. Tell Yourself (02:52)
7. Emmett’s Ghost (feat. Ron Carter) (03:10)
8. White & Black (04:37)
9. Along The Way (02:40)
10. Talkin’ ‘Bout A Train, Pt. 1 (feat. Billy Branch) (04:08)
11. Talkin’ ‘Bout A Train, Pt. 2 (04:05)
12. Love’s Kingdom (feat. Tommy Sims & Glen Scott) (04:54)
13. One-ness Of Love (feat. Lisa Mills) (03:16)