Enrico Dindo – Castelnuovo-Tedesco: Works for Cello & Piano (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Enrico Dindo – Castelnuovo-Tedesco: Works for Cello & Piano (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:14:22 minutes | 1,17 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Naxos

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco wrote that the cello is an instrument Ive always particularly loved, and this is reflected in the deft way he exploits its colours and techniques in chamber works recorded here that include unpublished gems and a world premiere. The sophisticated Cello Sonata and Sonatina also reveal the composers skill as a pianist, giving equal roles in a symbiotic relationship that tests both players virtuosity. Impressionist flavours in I nottambuli or Night Owls contrast with a Toccata that blends fireworks with lyricism, as does the Jewish soulfulness of the popular Chant hébraïque with the playful Scherzo that uses the English traditional tune Sumer is icumen in.

01. Cello Sonata, Op. 50: I. Arioso e sereno
02. Cello Sonata, Op. 50: II. Arietta con variazioni
03. Cello Sonatina, Op. 130: I. Allegretto
04. Cello Sonatina, Op. 130: II. Andantino grazioso e un poco malinconico
05. Cello Sonatina, Op. 130: III. Rondo alla marcia. Allegro con spirito
06. I nottambuli, Op. 47 (Variazioni fantastische)
07. Toccata, Op. 83: I. Introduzione
08. Toccata, Op. 83: II. Aria
09. Toccata, Op. 83: III. Finale
10. Chant hébraïque, Op. 53 (Arr. G. Cassadó for Cello & Piano)
11. Scherzino, Op. 82 No. 2
12. Notturno sull’acqua, Op. 82 No. 1
13. Meditation (Kol Nidre)

Enrico Dindo, cello
Alessandro Marangoni, piano