Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 49:11 minutes | 541 MB | Genre: Electronic, Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Movementt

The power music holds to bring people together has long been known, but the debut album by British jazz star Emma-Jean Thackray, with its spiritual, hippie-esque qualities, channels a feeling of unity that few other records can muster; she does it sincerely and without an air of preachiness.

With a strong sense of community at its core – an ethos that runs through the UK jazz scene – the connectivity from the dancefloor-angled ‘Yellow’ is especially poignant given the last 18 months. It also aligns perfectly with the Yorkshire-born London-based polymath’s description of it being a record “about the oneness of all things in the universe, showing love and kindness”. It’s fitting, then, that Thackray created it with the mindset of trying to stimulate a psychedelic experience that unveils a hidden dimension. A follow-up to her ‘Rain Dance’ EP (which NME ranked as one of 2020’s best EP releases), and having been releasing music for half a decade (including a collaboration with iconic jazz label Blue Note), ‘Yellow’ vividly expands on Thackray’s crystal clear artistic vision.

1. Emma-Jean Thackray – Mercury
2. Emma-Jean Thackray – Say Something
3. Emma-Jean Thackray – About That
4. Emma-Jean Thackray – Venus
5. Emma-Jean Thackray – Green Funk
6. Emma-Jean Thackray – Third Eye
7. Emma-Jean Thackray – May There Be Peace
8. Emma-Jean Thackray – Sun
9. Emma-Jean Thackray – Golden Green
10. Emma-Jean Thackray – Spectre
11. Emma-Jean Thackray – Rahu & Ketu
12. Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow
13. Emma-Jean Thackray – Our People
14. Emma-Jean Thackray – Mercury (In Retrograde)