Emile Parisien, Vincent Peirani, Andreas Schaerer & Michael Wollny – Out Of Land (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Emile Parisien, Vincent Peirani, Andreas Schaerer & Michael Wollny – Out Of Land (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 47:44 minutes | 531 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music

For once, here’s a band for which the word “supergroup” is completely appropriate. Swiss vocalist Andreas Schaerer, German pianist Michael Wollny, French accordionist Vincent Peirani and his saxophonist compatriot Emile Parisien are four of the brightest and most charismatic stars in European jazz, now combining their talents in a quartet. This live 2016 recording demonstrates why they are at the very pinnacle of jazz musicians of their generation.

Recorded on the Bee-Flat scene in Berne, this live album brings together the cream of European avant-garde Jazz: the saxophonist Emile Parisien, the accordion player Vincent Peirani, the Swiss singer Andreas Schaerer and the German pianist Michael Wollny. A democratic quartet bursting with ideas, and producing sculpted improvisations as never before. The “European Jazz” label has sometimes provoked mockery. But it comes into its own with Out Of Land. Not because of the nationalities of the artists, but rather for the language they use. Because even if Peirani’s accordion gives a somewhat conventional colour to the ensemble, the music on offer here is viscerally anchored in the old world. To say nothing of the phenomenal Andreas Schaerer, the vocal acrobat and dazzling stunt-singer… Far from the beaten track of your Dad’s jazz and the golden age of some taxidermied hard-bop, Parisien, Peirani, Schaerer and Wollny are inventing a personal language which is nothing like that of their elders Portal, Jeanneau, Texier, Humair, Kühn, Jenny Clark, Humair and company. Demanding and fascinating.

01 – Air Song
02 – B & H
03 – Kabinett V
04 – Rezeusler
05 – Ukuhamba

Recorded live in concert on April 10, 2016 at Bee-Flat, Bern, Switzerland.
Mixed and Mastered by Martin Ruch at Control Room Berlin, November 2016.

Emile Parisien – soprano saxophone
Vincent Peirani – accordion
Andreas Schaerer – voice & mouth percussion
Michael Wollny – piano