Elysium Ensemble – Johann Joachim Quantz: Sei Duetti (2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Johann Joachim Quantz – Sei Duetti – Elysium Ensemble (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:07:07 minutes | 1,13 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Resonus Limited
Recorded: The Salon, Melbourne Recital Centre — 10-13 October 2011

Previously unrecorded as a complete set using Quantz’s preferred instrumentation, the Sei Duetti, op. 2 (Berlin, 1759), are works of high quality and interest. Quantz presents his musical ideas as a continuously evolving conversation. They embody wonderfully the idea of Dialogue: The Art of Elegant Conversation.
These historically significant works are excellent examples of Quantz’s intermediate position between the Baroque and Classical periods. They deserve to be heard by a wider audience.
The CD was recorded in the crystal clear and resonant acoustic of The Salon at the Melbourne Recital Centre, Australia. The natural acoustic of the space shines through (no artifical reverb has been added). This acoustic is ideal for the performance and recording of Baroque and Classical chamber music.

“I listened with great pleasure to the Quantz duet recording of Greg Dikmans and Lucinda Moon. They made me rediscover these works, that have too often been undervalued as dry and uninteresting compositions.
“I am glad that Greg Dikmans and Lucinda Moon did not take the easy superficial approach, but made the effort to take these light and charming works “seriously” enough and bring out so many different shades of colours.
“Quantz himself recommends playing these pieces with two different instruments in order to do justice to the polyphonic writing, and I am particularly happy hearing them being performed on flute and violin rather than two flutes.
“Thanks, Greg and Lucinda!”— Barthold Kuijken, Gooik, May 21st 2015

Johann Joachim Quantz (1697-1773)
Sei Duetti, Op. 2 (Berlin, 1759)
Duetto I in G major
01 I. Allegro 00:06:43
02 II. Larghetto 00:02:28
03 III. Presto 00:02:00
Duetto II in A minor
04 I. Allegro assai 00:04:19
05 II. Andantino 00:03:54
06 III. Presto 00:02:17
Duetto III in B minor
07 I. Allegro 00:03:09
08 II. Larghetto, alla Siciliana 00:04:30
09 III. In Tempo di Minuetto ma Grazioso 00:04:23
Duetto IV in C major
10 I. Allegro 00:03:50
11 II. Affettuoso 00:03:00
12 III. Presto 00:03:51
Duetto V in D major
13 I. Allegro 00:04:07
14 II. Mesto 00:03:38
15 III. Allegro di molto 00:05:05
Duetto VI in E minor
16 I. Grave 00:01:36
17 II. Allabreve, ma Presto 00:02:24
18 III. Cantabile 00:03:17
19 IV. Più tosto Vivace – Canone infinito 00:02:34

Elysium Ensemble
Greg Dikmans, flute
Lucinda Moon, violin