Elvis Presley – Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (1973/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Elvis Presley – Aloha From Hawaii Via Satellite (1973/2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:02:07 minutes | 1,28 GB | Genre: Pop, Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RCA Records
Recorded live at the Honolulu International Center, 12:30 AM, Sunday, January 14, 1973

Aloha from Hawaii Via Satellite is a live concert album by American singer and musician Elvis Presley, released by RCA Records in February 1973 and peaked at #1 on the Billboard chart in the spring of the same year. Despite the satellite innovation, the US did not air the concert until April 4. Aloha from Hawaii (which was a worldwide ratings smash) went to #1 on the Billboard album chart. The album dominated the charts, reaching #1 in both the pop and country charts in the US.
Aloha from Hawaii was a two-disc set—only the second such release of Presley’s career (the first being 1969’s double set From Memphis to Vegas/From Vegas to Memphis, which contained one album each of studio and concert recordings). It was initially released only in quadraphonic sound, becoming the first album in the format to top the Billboard album chart.
The album contains all the live performances from the TV special, but omits the five songs Presley recorded after the show and which were featured on the original broadcast; these would be issued later on the album Mahalo from Elvis. The album also omits Presley’s brief announcement concerning the concert being presented for the benefit of the Kui Lee Cancer Fund.
The album was certified Gold on February 13, 1973, platinum and 2× Platinum on May 20, 1988, 3× Platinum on July 15, 1999, and 5× Platinum on August 1, 2002, by the RIAA.On April 15, 2016 the BPI certified the album Silver for sales of 60,000 units.

Aloha from Hawaii Via Satellite is a double-album set that captures Elvis’ celebrated live television concert from 1973. Arguably, it also captures the peak of the Presley live extravaganzas of the ’70s. Spanning two albums and 30 songs (the single-CD reissue from 1992 trims the number of songs to 24), the record finds Elvis pulling out all the stops, running through a set that favors covers and new material at the expense of classics. That’s hardly a complaint, since the whole point of his concerts in the ’70s was a sensory onslaught, where a bluesy (albeit over the top) version of “See See Rider” could sit next to a schmaltzy showstopper like “American Trilogy.” And the key to the whole thing is that Elvis actually sounds more committed to “American Trilogy” than “See See Rider.” That passion and energy are carried over to each song, and that’s what makes the entire enterprise so entertaining. It’s also why the record was a massive hit upon its release and why so many fans have fond memories of Aloha from Hawaii decades after the actual concert. -AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 Introduction: Also Sprach Zarathustra (Theme From 2001: A Space Odyssey) 1:10
2 See See Rider 2:59
3 Burning Love 3:10
4 Something 3:31
5 You Gave Me A Mountain 3:17
6 Steamroller Blues 3:04
7 My Way 4:04
8 Love Me 1:55
9 Johnny B. Goode 1:43
10 It’s Over 2:10
11 Blue Suede Shoes 1:13
12 I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry 2:16
13 I Can’t Stop Loving You 2:27
14 Hound Dog 0:52
15 What Now My Love 3:15
16 Fever 2:28
17 Welcome To My World 1:54
18 Suspicious Minds 4:31
19 Introductions By Elvis 1:37
20 I’ll Remember You 2:31
21 Medley: Long Tall Sally/Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On 2:04
22 American Trilogy 4:34
23 A Big Hunk O’ Love 2:09
24 Can’t Help Falling In Love 2:43

Elvis Presley, guitar, vocals
Background vocalists:
J.D. Sumner & the Stamps Quartet: Ed Enoch, Bill Baize, Donnie Sumner, Ed Wideman, J.D. Sumner
The Sweet Inspirations: Myrna Smith, Sylvia Shemwell, Estelle Brown
Kathy Westmoreland
The TCB Band:
James Burton, lead guitar
John Wilkinson, rhythm guitar
Ronnie Tutt, drums
Jerry Scheff, Fender bass
Glen Hardin, piano, keyboards
Charlie Hodge, vocals, acoustic guitar
The Joe Guercio Orchestra