Elvin Jones Jazz Machine – Remembrance (1978/2014) [ProStudioMasters FLAC 24bit/88,2Hz]

Elvin Jones Jazz Machine – Remembrance (1978/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 41:36 minutes | 857 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: ProStudioMasters | @ MPS Records

“When I played Remembrance the depth of my thoughts of John Coltrane were overpowering.”
– Elvin Jones

“Jones left an indelible mark on jazz drumming … he gave the drums a speaking voice that was entirely his own.”
– Jazz.com

For this 1978 album, drummer Elvin Jones brought along his Jazz Machine, a quintet with the somewhat unusual lineup of two saxophones (Pat LaBarbera and Michael Stuart both on tenor and soprano sax), guitar (Roland Prince), bass (Andy McCloud III) and Jones, of course, on drums. Sax player LaBarbera contributes four of the seven songs here. Ever popular, Jones and his Jazz Machine continued to tour and record right up to Jones’s death in 2004.

The Elvin Jones Jazz Machine has frequently featured hard-toned tenors who improvise in a style influenced by John Coltrane, modal originals and high-powered performances in which the drummer/leader can push his sidemen. This MPS set is no exception. Pat LaBarbera and Michael Stuart double on tenors and sopranos, guitarist Roland Prince offers a contrasting solo voice and all of the material is obscure with four of the seven songs penned by LaBarbera. It’s an excellent if somewhat lesser-known outing.

01 – Giraffe
02 – Section 8
03 – Little Lady
04 – Familiar Ground
05 – Kalima
06 – Beatrice
07 – Remembrance

Elvin Jones – drums
Pat LaBarbera – tenor saxophone and soprano
Michael Stuart – tenor saxophone and soprano
Roland Prince – guitar
Andy McCloud III – bass