Elina Duni Quartet – Matane Malit (2012) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Elina Duni Quartet – Matanë Malit (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 53:43 minutes | 723 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks  | Artwork: Digital booklet | @ ECM

Matanë Malit (Beyond the mountain) marks the exquisite ECM debut by the Elina Duni Quartet. The recording pays homage to Albania and finds a singer looking at her roots from a contemporary vantage point as a musician engaged in improvisational processes. Duni explores the region’s troubled history, uncovering songs filled with beauty and power. These traditional masterpieces arranged by Duni, tell the stories of lovers, heroes, workers, shepherds and exiles. Each track focuses on the shape of the sound and the composition’s structure. Absolutely riveting!

“Not since the June 2011 release of Amina Alaoui’s Arco Iris has ECM released such an exquisite vocal performance as they have with the Elina Duni Quartet’s Matane Malit…A pristine voice, quiet and unassuming yet with the ability to play catch and release on a note and set the words free as an atmospheric and deceptively subtle organic chamber sound fills the void with deep rich colors.” – Critical Jazz

01 – Ka një mot
02 – Kjani trima
03 – Kur të kujtosh
04 – Vajzë e valeve
05 – Unë ty moj
06 – Erë pranverore
07 – Çelo Mezani
08 – Ra kambana
09 – Çobankat
10 – Kristal
11 – U rrit vasha
12 – Mine Peza

Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineers: Gerard de Haro, Nicolas Baillard.
Recorded February 2012 at Studios La Buissonne, Pernes-les-Fontaines.

Elina Duni – voice
Colin Vallon – piano
Patrice Moret – double bass
Norbert Pfammatter – drums