Eliane Elias – Love Stories (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Eliane Elias – Love Stories (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 43:34 minutes | 924 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Concord Jazz

Since moving to the United States in 1981, it was only in 2015 with Made in Brazil and again in 2017 with Dance of Time that Eliane Elias returned to her native Brazil to record the two albums. The São Paulo singer-pianist-composer’s strength lies in transporting the listener to the seductive atmospheres of Brazil, even when the repertoire is rather well-known… very well-known in fact. With this aptly named Love Stories, Elias showcases her skills not only as a brilliant jazz pianist and sensual singer but also as an arranger, composer and producer! Sung almost entirely in English, this 2019 vintage blends three original pieces with seven covers of hits from the golden age of bossa nova and the sixties, popularized by the likes of Antonio Carlos Jobim or Frank Sinatra. Despite this, Love Stories is not an excessively nostalgic record. This collection of love songs exhibits the timeless grace of songs from the 20th century by Jobim with the great arranger Claus Ogerman. And with the very popular (maybe too popular?) compositions, such as the theme from Francis Lai’s film Un homme et une femme, Eliane Elias once again succeeds in fascinating us. Subtlety, vulnerability, finesse, refinement and grace: the Paulista demonstrates why these words are so often attached to her name.


1 A Man And A Woman
2 Baby Come To Me
3 Bonita
4 Angel Eyes
5 Come Fly With Me
6 The Simplest Things
7 Silence
8 Little Boat
9 The View